Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Edition - Sgt. Pepper Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
9
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
0
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 November 2008
I always use Alastair Sawday guides as my first point of reference to book accommodation when I travel in the UK (and beyond) and have never been disappointed.

The new edition of `Special Places to Stay: British Hotels & Inns' has a fantastic range of recommendations, ranging from chic boutique hotels to grand old country houses.

Alistair Sawday has done all the hard work of locating exceptional places to stay which are seriously comfortable and stylish, yet very affordable.

The guide is also really easy to use - entries are categorised by region, with each hotel listing illustrated with a photograph, clear directions and details the type of accommodation on offer, owner contact details. Places that make an effort to be environmentally friendly are also highlighted.

For anyone who wants to stay somewhere special, this is the perfect accessory to booking hotel accommodation in the UK!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2008
If you attend weddings/ parties/ Christenings/ etc on a fairly frequent basis, or even holiday in the British Isles you often find yourself looking for somewhere decent to stay in a town/ region you've never visited previously. For these occasions, the Sawday's guides are indispensable. The benefits of these guides over any other is that they offer real quality control. I now rarely stay anywhere that they haven't recommended, and have discovered many of my very favourite places courtesy of their guides and homepage. The new book has an improved layout, and has updated the selection but retains the insistence on high standards in choosing their special places.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2009
Fantastic book for those who love the nice things in life. Have used Alastair Sawdays books before and never been disappointed. This one is great and so full of all the information you need. Enjoy short breaks? ...... enjoy this book!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
It's a relief to see that standards of Sawday guides have not slipped. This one has the usual, reliably accurate and up-to-date descriptions, high-quality photographs and very helpful use of symbols to identify establishments with specific features such as wheelchair access, wi-fi availability and swimming pool.

We have stayed at several of these hotels and inns and found them very much as described, just as we have in previous years with pubs and B&Bs.

Just one thing to be aware of: While coverage is excellent in the main holiday areas, it can be rather limited elsewhere. For example, there is nothing at all in Lincolnshire and only one place in Northumberland, one (just about) in the Scottish Borders and four north of Inverness.

With that one caution, this guide is highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2008
A few years ago who would have thought that Britain could offer such chic and stylish places to stay. Now we are spoilt for choice with Sawday's new edition, British Hotels and Inns.
Sit back and enjoy page after page of luxurious - yet reasonably priced - places to stay.
A joy to plan that special visit to Britain and see what we really have to offer.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2010
As ever Mr Sawday has a major hand in one of the more informed accommodation review publications. (What a job to have!)
The entries are all soundly assessed and the finer details re room design / size / colour schemes are all spot on.
Equal praise is given for the food - menu - cuisine reviews. If ever he wants an assistant ....
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2010
As an ardent traveller I love finding unusual and special places to rest my weary head - and this book fits the bill perfectly. Not only is it jam-packed with quality hotels to suit all budgets, but it also has excellent write-ups that really give a picture of the place to stay. I have not yet found a place from this guide that hasn't lived up to its description, which is definitely NOT the case with some accommodation guides. We're now planning a weekend away in Devon or Cornwall and this is the first place I'll be looking.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2011
It seems good for the organization of a trip in advance- as I am doing .
But if this guide will be worth it, its too early because none of these
destinations we have tested yet :-)
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2009
Terrific overview of the best small hotels in Britain. Essential referece for those planning a holiday.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)