Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
12
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
5
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 24 November 2016
This is one of those books that has no obvious competitor, so if the subject interests you (and who wouldn't it interest!), you don't have many other options. Luckily, this is a pretty good book. It covers the main vehicles you'd want to know about from the period, and in some detail, using period photographs and drawings, many from original brochures. The text is informative (if a little dry) and feels accurate to me. I found some of the text and illustrations just a bit small for comfort, but this is a small quibble. A medium size hardback with very good quality paper and binding.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2017
Wonderful book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2014
Rinsey Mills' treatment of previous titles British Lorries and British Buses was so informative and good to read that I have eagerly waited for his latest title to come off the press. It seems like 2years from the first announcement but there is no disappointment now it's here. You have to be of a certain age to remember most of the vehicles portrayed and many of them are never seen on the rally circuit,probably because they were worked to distruction and a pile of rust by their last owners. This book is a valuable reference work whether or not you knew the vehicles in their hey day
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2014
The author's 'British Lorries 1945-1965' is a superb book (see my review) so I looked forward to this one with great anticipation. It's a good and enjoyable book, but perhaps not quite as engaging as its predecessor - to me, anyway.

The content follows the same format as 'Lorries' with authoritative commentary alongside copious contemporary pictures and extracts from sales literature and it's a great read. The author's problem IMO is that he's been given the same 20-year time slot as before. Last time he had 22 makes to cover and the pace was lively. This time he's got just 13 and, to fill the space, in places three or four pages are given to a model where perhaps two might have done and the 21 pages at the end on camper vans look to me as something of a space filler. My own view (YMMV) is that had the author been charged with writing 'British Vans and Pickups 1945-85', with more to cover he would have been able to deliver a book with a little more pace.

One memory the book did bring back was the mentions of optional passenger seats which reminded me that when I took my test the instructions said that the examiner could sit on a firmly securely box if there was no seat; seat belts? What seat belts?
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2013
being a classic car and truck fan I was brought this book for christmas I already have british trucks 1945-65 when it was first released these books are excellent taking the art work from the sales brochures with some tex you will be amazed lets hope this is the start of more to come highly rated
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2017
Good descriptions, full of it nformation & nostalgic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2016
Full of period pictures and with excellent coverage.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2015
Just as I expected
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2014
Purchased for my husband, who is mad about anything to do with vehicles, especially those around in his youth (in the 50's and 60's). He says this is an excellent book, well worth buying. Thoroughly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2014
Plenty of specific and related data including history of vehicles and companies. Too heavy to read in bed but splendid in an armchair.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)