Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
53
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 April 2010
This is a good book, but is basically a re-hashing of what is in the Business Analysis book (which covers the BCS Business Analyst Diploma course). I hoped this book would flesh some of the techniques out for me, but it doesn't.

However, if you've not got the BA book and want a one-stop shop for all BA techniques, then this is a great book (though I question some of the techniques as being of any use to a BA. Maybe to a management consultant or strategic change consultant... but I guess that's down to the semantics of job descriptions)
44 comments| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2010
There are plenty of text books that go into excruciating detail on individual techniques - I recently bought a 270 page book Writing Effective Use Cases (Crystal Series for Software Development), and good though it is, all I really seem to need day to day is the 7 pages in this book. My other favourite things in this book are the ice breaking techniques and workshop section in general, storyboarding, interviewing and mindmaps.

All are given enough treatment to give you the basics if you don't already know the technique (sufficient to work out if it's worth a more in depth study), or to remind you of the key points if it's something you've already previously learnt.

I have loads of books on business analysis, project management and general management, but this is the only one I consistently refer to. I'm thinking of buying a second copy so I can have one at home as well as in the office.
11 comment| 44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 24 August 2015
A very good, clear introduction to a set of useful techniques. Alongside being useful for practitioners, I found this book very useful as revision for the oral exam for the BCS International Diploma in Business Analysis. Not only does it give you the technique, it also gives good rationale on when it's useful, why and how to use it, etc. It goes deeper than the normal textbook (Business Analysis 3rd edition).
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2011
This book contains an excellent collection of tools and models that serves as a perfect starting point when engaging in analyses (whether it being huge og small analyses). Of course the book doesn't do the thinking for you, and it doesn contain detailed instructions. But it provides a superb overview, that helps you do further research.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2014
A really good reference book covering just about everything in a short paragraph, but it's light on example diagrams so you have to go an look online for those.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2010
This book is superb.

I do own, the Business Analysis book as well and deem them both very useful. In the day to day throws of a BA this book will definitely aid you. In fact, I'd say that a lot of the techniques are not exclusive to the role of a BA, I can imagine a lot of managers (all levels) would find this book a great resource from which to make a start on understanding where they are, where they want to go and how they might get there.

For some techniques I feel the book is only a starting place for your knowledge (the authors recognise this) however what I find of most value is a.) there a specific techniques to use and b.) when and where they are best applied.

I now have no excuses not to do a good job as a BA....damn.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2012
This is a great book, detailing the various techniques a BA will need/use.
Team members are always asking to borrow this book!
This book has made me a more rounded BA as I am now confident using various methods to elict, document, deliver requirements.
Stakeholder analysis, business case, Rqmt's specification documents etc...
Very well structured put together book.
A must for all BA's or indeed IT professionals :-)
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2010
"A very handy book to recollect/review management frameworks and business analysis tools during client consulting and business case development"
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2014
Good in sight for people whose job is not in this field or are looking to venture into it. It does offer some helpful hints but also has to lot of back ground information which you show be aware of anyway. But all in all a good starting point.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2013
its a great way to understand business analysis. the book is laid out well and is full of easy to follow examples
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)