Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
11
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£15.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 November 2012
This is an excellent addition to the numerous books published about off-road running in the UK. An interesting companion to Steve Fallon's super 'Classic Hill Runs and Races in Scotland', this book caters for those who would prefer not to join the brave and mad hill runners who race up and down the various Marilyns, Corbetts and Munros of Scotland, and would rather take on a slightly different course. This isn't too say that the trails covered would prove any less of a challenge, as they vary in length from relatively flat, short jaunts up to marathon length runs with significant altitude change. There are useful keys to help you select the runs according to your skills and experience, information on appropriate maps to take with you, and maps printed in the book to provide illustration alongside the descriptions. As it covers the various regions of mainland Scotland and the islands, this book would be ideal for runners visiting any part of Scotland. Considering the trails covered do not take what is often the quickest route up and down hills, this book would also prove useful for walkers. Overall an excellent guide to some fantastic looking runs across the country for those who perhaps don't have the desire or confidence to spend time studying Ordnance Survey maps to create routes themselves.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2012
What a fantastic resource for beginner trail runners. I have been road running for years and lack a bit of confidence in venturing into the trails in case I get lost. Only had a wee skim through this but love the descriptions, the photography and the various levels of runs it contains. Also good links and information on kit, clubs and further reading.

This will definitely inspire me to get a few running pals together and plan a road trip - lets get out there and get muddy!!!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2013
Fantastic written book with informative overview of various trail runs for all levels of runner. Desperate to try some. I suppose wish more local ones as although 70 in book I wish I could purchase a book on more local runs as will probably never do most in book due to either travel or the level of run ie too easy or hard. Not sure how useful in hind sight I will find it but inspiring and you never know I could set myself the challenge of doing every one!,
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2013
Full of excellent , down to earth advice and super locations. Great reading and inspiring photos. Would recommend to those embarking trail running.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2016
We own this book and have really enjoyed reading the run descriptions and reliving past hill days. My husband has run quite a few of the routes now but I am not a runner and still think it's a fab book. As well as runs, it gives inspiration for walks for groups such as guides, scouts or DofE and my friend bought it just for new dog walk suggestions! It's beautifully put together and carefully researched and a fab addition to any bookshelf.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2014
This book is immaculately researched and written. I think the best thing is the systematic way each run is described and documented, with a clear map, directions, elevation, etc, all in the same format as all the other runs - you can tell it's been written by a scientist! The information you might need during the run is all laid out on 2 adjacent pages, so you can photocopy it onto an piece of A4 paper to carry with you

I've done 4 of the runs since buying the book last year, one in Glencoe, two in the Trossachs, and one by Loch Fyne, and the descriptions and instructions have been faultless. There's a fair spread of different distances on offer, and the locations are spread all over Scotland.

It's also an attractive book to flick through and inspire you to get out there, with practical tips about trail running equipment and planning as well.

Highly recommended. Look at her website for info and updates too:
[...]
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2013
Very well written, reader friendly...recommended.

Provides a detailed view of great runs in this wonderful part of the planet called Scotland.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2015
Excellent book that helped give me ideas for when I started trail running, now have completed my first ultra trail marathon. Great inspiration.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2016
Just outstanding - packed with useful content, great value for money. Clear route descriptions, excellent clear route maps, loads of variety. I have been looking through various UK trail running guides recently, this is easily the best.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2014
A wonderful book about trail running in Scotland. Packed with referable trails, beautiful areas and good advices according to trail running. Thank you Susie Allison!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here