Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
15
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
13
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£14.88+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 September 2012
Having just returned to Alpine Mountaineering after a 10 year gap, I was looking for something which provided the basis of a good revision guide. I chose this manual purely by chance and I'm not disapointed. It provides everything you need to know, whether novice or more experienced mountaineer; the manual covers just about everything, from the basics right through to more advanced rope techniques and Alpine skills, including mountain weather, equipment, navigation and useful sections on Via Ferrata and Mountain Routes in the European Alps. It is clearly written, informative and packed with colour photos. In my view, an excellent all-round manual.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2014
This is a good addition to the mountaineering bible, "The Freedom of the Hills" (which suffers a bit from poor illustrations), but is a must-read. Goodlad's book on the other hand, is much better illustrated (color photos in sequence!) and has plenty of information for an introduction book as regards the Alps. For the beginner, it even indicates two types of starter kit lists, for peu difficile and assez difficile routes in addition to the usual equipment needed such as piolet, crapons etc. It is written by an international grade mountain guide, with nice tips and insights, and a true love for the hills. Although hands-on experience is mandatory, as well as proper instruction to this sport, —this book served well as an intro and preparation after having already done plenty of trekking, sometimes as high as 4000m, but desiring to reach now higher views. Very recommendable with the right amount of info to get you started for a course!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2014
Absolutely brilliant book I may have to buy another copy as my old ones getting a bit tattered now, it's so well used. Both a skills "how to" book and a guidebook. I've now almost done all of the routes in the guidebook without having to pay for a mountain guide. This book is worth it's weight in gold.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2011
Awesome book. Just makes you really want to get out there in the mountains! Really good clear photos and descriptions for techniques, and great ideas of where to go and practice them in the Alps! Roll on next summer!!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2012
This is a great introduction to Alpine Mountaineering. All aspects of mountaineering are covered in a clear and concise manner that is accessible to those wishing to progress from basic trekking. A guidebook is also provided at the end that suggests areas in the Alps in which to practice your new skills. Obviously this book is to be backed up with proper training but it provides a solid platform for the reader to develop the skills necessary for Alpine climbing. I loved reading this book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2012
Great book. If you are just starting out, or want to learn the technics needed for your first trip to the Alps this is a great resource. The information is well presented and the author goes straight to the point with clear instructions.

Almost everything is covered, from the clothing you'll need to how to move safely on rock and ice.
There are a few routes recommend at the end of the book that would make for a great start on the Alps.

Highly recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2012
If you've ever looked up at the mountains and thought how you'd like to 'give it a go' then I'd recommend this book as a terrific place to start. Enough detail to give you the confidence that you won't feel like a total 'numpty' when you arrive at the car park where your guide and all the other 'proper climbers' are waiting! I'm much more likely to get into the mountains now - bring on the summer!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2013
Beautifully presented book that takes you right from the basics to the more involved aspects of Alpinism such as crevasse rescue. Ample coloured illustrations compliment the book fantastically. The book ends with some suggested Alpine trips and this alone pays for the book - giving you plenty of ideas for your first Alpine trip! If you're venturing onto Alpine mountains buy this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2013
I'm going to break the run of complete 5-star reviews for this book. It's a good read and full of information no doubt - from techniques and roping, to kit lists and guidance, to a guide book section of good places to start off in the Alps. It's been an informative and enjoyable read, but the book does miss its target at times but only in two areas.

Firstly, the book is aimed at those who have either done some climbing work, or who have only ever hiked before. However, it seems to forget about the latter target audience at times, usually by using some terminology that isn't explained. You may then encounter it again later in the book where its meaning becomes clear. As a result I found myself going back several chapters trying to find the earlier use to see if what I'd read before then made more sense.

Secondly, the use of colour photos throughout is excellent and adds to the quality feel of the bookbut they can lack clarity and in many cases I found myself either playing "spot the difference" for something that was a sequence of steps, or unclear as to what the concept being shown was despite the descriptions that accompany each photo or sequence. In books with bad diagrams you find yourself wishing for photos, but at points in this book I found myself wishing for a clear diagram.

Overall though, a great book but it benefits from multiple readings.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2014
The best 'how too' book on mountaineering I have read. Easy to understand, clear photos and very practical advice.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)