Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle George Michael - MTV Replugged Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
18
4.8 out of 5 stars
South West Sea Kayaking: Isle of Wight to the Severn Estuary
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£14.86+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 15 July 2017
Detailed trip plans and reviews, the authors enthusiasm is infectious and you find yourself trying to work out the tides for different areas and if you can get the time off work ...
Great book
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2017
Bought as a gift which was well received. Very speedy delivery and exactly as described
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2010
Very interesting and detailed book. Just what we were hoping for, my husband hasn't put it down since I got it for him for christmas, he is a very keen sea kayaker and finds this book very useful and informative.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2008
As a man who lives in Cornwall and has been in and around its seas in various craft, and who has just realised a long yearning for exploring the coast by kayak by purchasing both a single and a tandem in which to begin the adventure, I was really looking forward to receiving this book. I couldn't have been any more impressed. Mark Rainsley's book somehow manages to describe a passage of the entire coast from the Needles to the River Seven (including the Isles of Scilly and Lundy) in some 50 stages in a surprising amount of detail. The information is practical and interesting and is very well organised, covering historical, ecological, and nautical angles. There are maps for each stage/route and a bounty of colour photos. My only worry is that it may help spawn a plethora of kayakers to swarm the presently un-crowded waters around the South West. Other than that it's a great achievement.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2008
South West Sea kayaking is the new guidebook from Pesda Press, written by Mark Rainsley. It is the first, in-depth guidebook for the Southwest coastline and Islands and has taken 12 months to research and produce.

Mark is undoubtedly one of the great authorities on Sea Kayaking around then South West. He describes three great routes on one of Simon Willis's podcasts and his blog is testament to his knowledge and obvious enjoyment of the excellent paddling available in the Southwest.

The guidebook is, to be blunt, outstanding. Having a large collection of 80's/early 90's climbing and walking guides I was expecting to find a similar black and white, text heavy book with hand drawn maps. More fool me! The layout and quality of the guidebook is superb. Fantastic colour cartography, clear and interesting colour photographs and a modern, crisp, clean design combine to make this a visual feast.

The content is as impressive. Concise and accurate when it needs to be, yet in depth enough to provide the information needed. Each section begins with an overview of key info such as grade, distance, tidal information, start/finish points and coastguard details.

Mark then skillfully describes the route in detail. These descriptions cover a range of information. From anecdotes and history to geology and wildlife. He does this with a great sense of humour which raised more than a couple of smiles.

The photographs illustrating this guide are generally superb. They give an up to date insight into the routes and points of interest and for me prove have been a great source of motivation for getting out on the water.

The accompanying maps are wonderfully produced and provide more than sufficient detail for basic route planning, however OS maps are referenced for each section and are obviously required for comprehensive planning purposes.

It is obvious that Mark has taken a great deal of care to document to 50 or so routes that make up this guide as accurately as possible. As a recent review in Canoekayak magazine states:

Author Mark Rainsley paddled each trip and has done an excellent job of capturing the essence of the south coast in concise and informative descriptions, and the additional notes on local history, wildlife and geology mean that you can practically smell the sea air whilst reading it.

This is a superb guidebook and one that despite its high quality finish should not adorne your bookshelf, but sit thumbed, dog-eared and annotated in your kit bag as you work your way through the routes.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2017
What a great book, it covers all the places I want to visit. its printed on quality glossy paper and reads well. I wanted it for my Surf ski adventures but it will work for most shore hugging watercraft adventurers. Thanks
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2011
I purchased this book as a gift for my sister (who finally acquired her own sea kayak earlier in the year). I took a risk and purchased on the back of others reviews, but it turned out to be a good decision and she is very happy with it (I know she wasn't just saying that to make me feel good... she spent most of Christmas day reading it!!!). Whilst my sister has many years kayaking/canoeing experience, she is relatively new to the South West area, so in her words it was the ideal gift.

At the time of writing, there is no preview of the book on Amazon (but you can find a lengthy preview on Google books)... well worth a look if you get a chance. The author also has a really nice blog/website which readers may also find useful. It is the title of the book dot co dot uk... or just Google 'South West Sea Kayaking' and you should find it.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2010
This is a great book for anyone fortunate to live along this coastline or indeed anyone visiting or holidaying here.

It's packed with useful information and although I have lived in Dorset near it's coastline for 25 years I learnt loads of new facts and suggestions for trips out etc. I've never camped with my kayak along the beach but Mark covers this too and I most admit I really fancy doing this now.

Highly recommended even if you don't do the suggested trips as all offer alternative landing/beaching points if you can't do the full trips.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2011
Great book and I now done many of the routes. The info is great and the timings for the routes are good even for a average paddler like myself. The photos in the book are top quality and make you want to get in your boat as soon as you look at them. A great book and I would highly recommend it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2015
This guide is really fantastic. I have had it for 3 years and it has always been very helpful to plan trips. I have just spent a week paddling in Cornwall and again I feel very grateful, again it has proved very accurate on all aspects, from navigation tips to where to launch from etc...What I particularly like about this book is that it gives a lot of information about history, that makes the trips even more interesting. The historical perspective is also interesting when the whether is not good for kayaking, last week for example on a very windy day i visited the telegraph museum in Porthcurnow, thanks to this wonderful guide. I want to say a big thank-you to the author.
Olivier
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)