Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
8
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 October 2008
whilst most of us may not agree with what happened in the past, the activities of hooligan gangs was a part of football history for many clubs up and down the country all those years ago. This book is a frank and honest account of what went on and as such is a vital insight into a side of football that is now thankfully fast becoming a memory.Football violence is part of british social history and as such this book gives a view from one side of the trenches.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2017
Book 1 - This book gives a range of stories of the days of the Soul Crew. Interesting contributions from various rival firms to bring together a true reflection of football in the 80's and 90's. Football violence is a part of British social history and as such this read gives a view from one side of the trenches. Also the fact it is written by various team top faces makes it a more truthful book and more enjoyable.
Book 2 - I was quite impressed about the secon part coming out because Annis has tried to cover four different eras 70's, 80's, 90's, and the present days. What I liked is that he got hooligans from other firms (Ginger Bob, Neil, Danny, Nicky Muff, Pat Dolan. etc.) to tell their stories about their days out when coming to support their team at Cardiff and the experience they had. The content and quality are superb. A must read for any football hoolifan.
Book 3 - This part is a must read for lads/casuals everywhere. This updated version is more and more professionally produced with some great original stories by quality authors like Annis, Big Gwyn, and Simmo. He includes great accounts of recent troubles which show that the culture of football is still there despite CCTV, banning orders, etc. This book is essential reading for any lad and is as much a part of the casual scene.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2008
In my opinion a very good read and unlike other hooligan books it doesn't glorify violence and also with a couple of exceptions the writers are all diehard CCFC fans who do not fit the stereotypical hooligan image-i.e. they go for the football and are not your top boy hoolies like the authors of some other books. Unlike other books it never claims that cardiff are invincible (Andrew Tooze please take note).

The most amusing chapter was Gwyn's Victory in Chesterfield-written with typical valleys humour. Big Sams 'Hooligans in Uniform' was good describing ott policing and criticising the egg chasing media-a chapter that all real cardiff fans can equate too. I particularly enjoyed Geran Shepherds Dont mention the war part-great humour from a german-the wolves away part being interesting along with the West Ham ICF (I chuck fruit) story.

I thought that Gillys chapter was a waste of ink-nothing really said apart from his respect for CCFC-no stories or anything.

Personally i would recommend it for CCFC fans as it captures a large part of the CCFC culture and cammeradare over the last 30 years and it shows that the majority of football lads are decent people with morals and values like the rest of us.

This book along with Shattered Dreams is like the literary version of Jonathan Owen's FA Cup Diary-in other words they capture the passion of following CCFC.

Well done Annis and the authors. 9/10
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2010
This book gives a range of stories of the days of the Soul Crew. Honest and Brilliant. It tells the stories in a good humour. Also the fact it is written by various team 'hooligans' makes it a more truthful read and more enjoyable. Good book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2008
I disagree with the above review. I do however agree that Gillys hapter could have been better and didnt really say a lot, but overall the book is a top read and I disagree that is is only for Cardiff fans. Many, Many other teams/firms are mentioned and apart from that, all Casuals/hooligans from any team will be able to relate to the stories in this book. A top addition to the terrace culture library. Look forward to volume 2.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2008
A fantastic insight into one of Britain notorious football firms.

Interesting contributions from various rival firms to bring together a true reflection of football in the 1980's & 90's.

This book would appeal to any football supporters not just the followers of Cardiff City.
22 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2008
the main reason i like this book is,its completley different to any other football hooligan book i have read. The author has pulled a masterstroke by getting the fans to tell thier stories about what happened to them when folowing the bluebirds. The fans have been very honest and the laughs and the scrapes they got into has made for a great read. we at cardiff city for many years have always said that we never claimed to be invincsable or be the number one firm, but as the fans say we are often more disorganised than organised but can still live with the best on there day. My favourite chapter is the first because for me personally i have a lot in common with it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2016
Great product quick delivery
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)