Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Handmade Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Pre-order now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
85
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

THE BOYS' BOOK OF SURVIVAL is a uniquely comedic book that can help young boys face any situation - from a zombie invasion, to a school dance, to landing an airplane.

There are many educational tips in this book that can be used in real life if one every got lost or stuck in a forest or was in any other dire situation. There are also impractical, yet funny, tips on how to survive alien invasions and disastrous pimples.

Guy Campbell writes witty and useful tips that will keep the reader wanting more. This book is a very quick read and the great illustrations by Simon Ecob only enhance the book's overall satisfaction.

And don't think that this book is only useful for boys; being an 18-year-old girl, I found this book very helpful, as well. I learned how to survive many dangerous situations, such as walking into quicksand or confronting a bear.

No matter your age or gender, this is one fast and funny read.

Reviewed by: Steph
11 comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2009
Bought this book for my 10 year old son. He loves this series of books, as do my 6 and 8 year old boys and my 36 year old husband!!

Fantastic tips for survival, very much an all boy book. When they take this book to school all the boys gather around during playtime to catch tips. A very popular book in our house.
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2014
I bought 9 of these as a party gift for 10 to 11 year olds and they were all delighted with it including the 22 year old cub leader who ran the party. it's a mixture of practical and funny tips including how to make a sling, a rope ladder, carry an injured mate and how to survive the school disco, survive family Christmas and survive an essay crisis. So some really useful tips are contained within this book and given in a very straightforward way but with a bit of fun thrown in. To be honest, anything which gets boys reading has to get 5 stars.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2009
Great fun guide for growing up boys.
It may become a must on their outings.
Always interesting and useful to know how to deal with aliens, snakes os polar bears...among other things!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
THE BOYS' BOOK OF SURVIVAL is a uniquely comedic book that can help young boys face any situation - from a zombie invasion, to a school dance, to landing an airplane.

There are many educational tips in this book that can be used in real life if one every got lost or stuck in a forest or was in any other dire situation. There are also impractical, yet funny, tips on how to survive alien invasions and disastrous pimples.

Guy Campbell writes witty and useful tips that will keep the reader wanting more. This book is a very quick read and the great illustrations by Simon Ecob only enhance the book's overall satisfaction.

And don't think that this book is only useful for boys; being an 18-year-old girl, I found this book very helpful, as well. I learned how to survive many dangerous situations, such as walking into quicksand or confronting a bear.

No matter your age or gender, this is one fast and funny read.

Reviewed by: Steph
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2016
Bought for my grown up niece's boyfriend alongside some survival items (flint, whistle, compass) as a bit of a joke gift and we have totally enjoyed some of the tips, to date we have avoided duelling and surviving Christmas with the family!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2011
My grandchildren live in the UK and I still love getting them new books to read. I have four grandsons ranging in age from 7 years old to 8 months old and the three older children enjoyed the book very much.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2011
Good book with ideas to occupy boys with during the summer months. Got it along with the Dangerous Book for boys which is better.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2012
We purchased this book for one of the children we childmind for. He came back and said to us that he loves this book, and he has now read this quite a few times already. His dad has also now read the book and he thoroughly enjoyed it. He also enjoyed talking to his son about it. They had quite a lot of discussions about this book. So we would definately reconmmend this book for boys and dads too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2013
This has a very retro look to it and lots of good advice for times of need. Some is a little tongue in cheek, but lots of fun for young adventurers who also have the den set, binoculars, etc, etc, etc. Promptly delivered.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse