Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 March 2011
Like the other reviewer of this title I'm a great fan of Mr. Glantz's work. For me his best book was Zhukov's Greatest Defeat, where Mr. Glantz does very well what he's so good at: describing a major operation in great detail, but in a compelling manner. It therefore makes me a tad sad that I cannot give this title the full five stars. I have a number of reasons for that, that I'll try to clarify by comparing this title with Zhukov's Greatest Defeat.
The first thing I want to mention is that this book is the first I know of to deal with the earliest part of Barbarossa in this level of detail. The focus is mainly on the Soviet side, and this is really new. What I feel comes across is that the Soviets fight according to a plan. The problem is that their forces don't have the quality they need, so they regularly fail to obey orders (or they are defeated). The underlying plan is to separate the Panzer spearheads from the bulk of the German infantry divisions, so they can be fought on something of equal terms. In this manner the most powerful elements of the German army can be weakened, giving the Soviet state more chance for survival later on. This plan is nothing new, though, as I've known this for over ten years. What's new is the way you get to see Timoshenko in action to make the plan work. This is great.
The trouble is you'll have to put some real effort into doing this, as the narrative is continually interrupted by daily reports from commanders. This breaks up the storyline and makes reading the book difficult. This is also the main difference between Zhukov's Greatest Defeat and this title. In the first title Mr. Glantz digested all these daily reports himself and made them a part of the story. This translates into an exiting read where you can easily follow what's going on. In the Smolensk title he no longer does this, and leaves it to you, the reader, to do this. This is the major reason I can't give the book five stars. I feel this approach has to do with the speed with wich Mr. Glantz is publishing books at the moment. This book feels somewhat rushed into publication. I've also noted this in the number of errors I encountered (like stating that Nevel' is 26 kilometers south of Leningrad). The book would have been worth five stars if the reports were not included literally, but worked into the text.
Two other issues are worth mentioning. The first is that I noticed that going down into the minute details of day to day operations has some risks. I first noticed this in Mr. Glantz's Stalingrad Trilogy, but it happened to me here also. By going down to the lowest level of combat and by dealing with them from day to day, or hour to hour, I often got drawn into the story so much that I lost sight of the bigger picture. So it can happen that you read of Soviet success after success, only to find that at the end of a couple of days fighting (and after reading perhaps a few dozen pages), the Soviets are defeated. This then came to me as a major surprise (and perhaps to the Soviets at the time as well). What I mean is that you have to make an effort yourself to keep the big picture in the back of your mind while reading the text, or you run the risk of losing sight of it.
The other issue I have to mention concerns the maps. Mr. Glantz has access to numerous maps, that show troop locations on a day to day basis in great detail. These are in themselves great sources of information. The trouble is that these maps are included in most of the books in photocopy quality. This means the print is grainy, and a lot of detail is lost. It then takes a lot of effort from the reader to make some sense of them. I've found myself redrawing some of them in colour, just to clarify the situation. This also is a problem that occurs in most of the titles Mr. Glantz publishes.
Now, do the above comments mean I don't like this book? No. I can say that I still like the title very much, like I did the Stalingrad trilogy. I just wanted the book to be written more in the style of Zhukov's Greatest Defeat, with clearer maps. Including the daily reports and daily orders separately as reference material would to me have been a more charming approach, where the storyline would be fluent, but the reader still had access to the reports. What's here now, however, is still very interesting and certainly adds to my knowledge of the early period of Barbarossa. This is especially so because this is the first time I've seen this period covered from the Soviet side, let alone at this level of detail. So if you can accept the above limitations and have an interest in Barbarossa, I do feel you should consider this title.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2017
Basically this a book for the military historian. but a brilliant blow by blow account of one of the most significant, if forgotten, series of battles of WWII.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2017
A very detailed book, great reference material for the campaign. I also have the map book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2011
This is the first of a two part series covering the strategically important battles for control of the Dvina-Dnepr River defense zone which includes Smolensk, the important ommunication center and gateway to Moscow. Smolensk, on the Dnepr, and the surrounding area that is bracketed by Velikie Luki / Toropets to the north and Krichev / Roslavl to the south is the primary battle zone.
This is the first of a two part series covering the strategically important battles for control of the Dvina-Dnepr River defense zone which includes Smolensk, the important communication center and gateway to Moscow. Smolensk, on the Dnepr, and the surrounding area that is bracketed by Velikie Luki / Toropets to the north and Krichev / Roslavl to the south is the primary battle zone.
This is the area Stalin, with the help of his new reserve armies, wanted to stop and destroy AGC led by Guderian's 2nd PzG and Hoth's 3rd PzG and supported by the 9th, 4th and 2nd Armies. Though having greater manpower, the Red Army had fewer modern tanks to stop the panzers but the lack of T-34s was compensated for by effective artillery. Involved with their fragmented defense and the eventual counter offensives would be the Western, Reserve, Bryansk and Central Fronts.
Along with the above background info, Mr Glantz describes prewar doctrine, the plans for Operation Barbarossa, lists opposing forces, casualties to date, and the disadvantages the Germans would face in Russia then highlights the phenomenal advance of the Panzer Groups in the first weeks of war before starting the battle action. Stalin's plans to stop the Germans at the Rivers with his reserves is then discussed. This preamble is not only interesting but an imperative for most of us. In addition to the big picture, the ebb and flow of the daily sometimes hourly maneuverings will be presented through sitreps with the thoughts, concerns and reactions of the key commanders as they counter the enemy's advance. I find this coverage of this micro planning process most engaging, making the battle more real, personal but the author takes this practice to the limit. Any more of these reports and it would overpower his own narrative.

The main coverage begins on July 10th as the Germans were advancing on the key towns of Vitebsk, Orsha, Mogilev near the Dnepr River and will continue until August 24th. By that time the city of Smolensk and parts of the surrounding area had been captured but there is much left to do to secure the surrounding areas around the important towns of Yartsevo, Yelnya, Roslavl as well as liquidating the surviving pockets before diverting to Kiev. The tactical description is very good. Units of both sides are included as is the impact of terrain and weather conditions, logistics or if artillery was involved.

The author will show in his usual competent style, backed by diary entries and situation reports of all levels the operational details, usually down to division level, of these horrific battles that would cost both sides severely. Especially noteworthy is the coverage of the siege of Mogilev, closing the Smolensk pocket and the fanatical fighting in the Solovevo corridor. Also important is the Velikie Luki Counter, the assault on Geyr's 24th PzC, the Timoshenko's Offensive of 7/23, the Counter at Yelnya and the Dukhovshchina Offensive in mid August to name just a few. The Russians made little gains for their trouble but inflicted high casualties and demoralized the German forces. It gave Stalin time to form more armies to protect Moscow. The Russian resistance was so severe, it persuaded Hitler to go after easier prey on the flanks and had AGC slow the offensive in the center (Directives 33, 34) and sent Hoth north and Guderian to Kiev to help AGS.

Besides good coverage of the command decisions of Hoth and Guderian, the author also discusses Kluge, Bock, Weichs and Strauss as well as Timoshenko, Rokossovsky, Zhukov, Lukin, Kachalov, Kurochkin, Yeremenko and Konev on the Soviet side. Prior to the actual battle, the author presents the plans of the offensive giving the reader a better understanding of how the battle is to be prosecuted. Using communiques from dictators to the battlefield, Stalin's obsession to always attack and Hitler's impatience, indecision and changes in objectives is well covered. Its interesting to watch Hitler and Halder go from highly confident to seriously concern as the German war machine gets shredded. Hitler realizes the Soviets were far from vanquished and at a time when his panzer strength was at its lowest level and their supply lines the longest.

In addition to the extensive ground coverage, Mr Glantz also provides poignant analysis and conclusions throughout the book to help the reader gain a fuller appreciation of the battle action and the ramifications that will emerge from those battles. Some of his conclusions are: the Germans had tactical momentum but the price they were paying for their gains was too high and was unsustainable. Besides the lengthy delay and high casualties, supplies were exhausted, the panzers and trucks that remain were worn out and in need of major repairs. These shortages so early in the war would not bode well as the war stretches beyond the limits of Barbarossa. Both 3rd and 2nd PzGs, besides needing time to refit, had been delayed in redeploying to the flanks to help take Leningrad and Kiev respectively. As AGC moved further east the front line expanded, placing greater strain on its forces not to mention the ever growing supply lines.
The German command were arguing terribly and losing cohesion among themselves over the current battle and the plans for Moscow regarding diverting to Kiev. The German Command was clearly irrational, desperate; their forces were exhausted and poorly supplied, machinery poorly maintained and the rainy season and then winter fast approaching. Hitler and his generals were well aware of how Napoleon lost his Army in 1812 but they ignored all logic and history and pursued the impossible dream: Moscow. Its also pointed out that by August with German over-extension and with panzer divisions at less than half strength if Timoshenko had better communications, coordination and logistics with his armies, the German losses would have been greater. With Mr Glantz's level of detail and insight, the ramifications of this battle was having on both sides is clearly spelled out. In the final concise "Conclusion" chapter, the author hints at what is to come in the second volume due to Hitler's decision to move his armor to the flanks.

The many maps show the daily progress of the German pincers slowly, hypnotically closing around the Soviet armies near Smolensk. Maps for August show the little progress at the line that includes Yartsevo, Yelnya and Roslavl. The key cities and rivers are shown and will be handy landmarks from which you'll be able to follow the action. These maps will be essential in following the densely packed narrative and are spread out throughout the book so that the proper map is always near. Map pointers are given to show the relevant map. Some of the maps are recent creations and cover the sector while smaller area maps are original German maps. The newer maps have better clarity but less detail, not showing all the locations in the narrative. A few maps are slightly darken or blurred and are harder to study. Some maps have text typed over the map that blocks out features. A number of sector maps were missing Army boundary lines. There are also 28 photos of the key commanders; many photos are only thumbnail in size.

There are extensive Endnotes that provides additional ancillary info and an Bibliography if further study is desired. Knowing German or Russian will help. Within the Appendix and throughout the book, there are abbreviated Orders of Battle for both sides. These OBs are an excellent reference if needed. A useful Index is also provided that break down commanders, units, battles, cities and rivers.
This critical sector saw some of the harshest, complicated series of attacks, counterattacks and pocket liquidations that were sending troops in every direction, making an operational nightmare for the officers in 1941 but Mr Glantz does an excellent job of simplifying these complexities and with the use of the many maps and tables an interested reader will be able to follow the action and gain a true appreciation of this strategically critical struggle that saw the Soviets, despite the costs, succeed in slowing the German advance and eliminate the ability of Germany to win the war in 1941.

This book nearly rivals the author's "Armageddon" for comprehensiveness and definition but for those who enjoyed it should still like this one as well. If you're new to reading Glantz, you should be warned that this book is technically challenging requiring your full attention and with little anecdotal experiences may be considered dry. In providing a few aspects of the battle, I've tried to show the potential reader a glimpse of how much information the author has researched and choreographed into his book. Though it must also be said that the Russian side dominates this book and while the German side is not overlooked there were times throughout the book when, I felt, there could have been more to the German side. A prime example concerns the assault on Mogilev. While the details of the Russian garrison to hold the city and the relief attempts to free that garrison was comprehensive, the German maneuvers to take the city were clearly lacking. You had to see some of the German assault vicariously through Russian eyes. In a few instances confirming data was thin. This is the area where "Armageddon" has the edge. Despite the minor criticism, the volume of info presented is far above anything I've read before, making this book five stars.

From my perspective and despite the criticism, I recognize and appreciate the author's huge effort and time invested in providing the history of this pivotal campaign and for anyone who is seriously interested in the eastern front, this is a must read book and is highly recommended.
11 Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2010
I am a great fan of the sustained scholarship of Colonel Glantz and enjoy the massive detail associated with his indepth analysis of the eastern front. This book follows his well established style of marshalling both Soviet and German sources and working through the subject matter on a blow by blow basis. The subject matter is fascinating - the primarily German historiography of the Minsk and Smolensk cauldron battles has often conveyed a certain inevitablity and ease in these early victories, with the only caveat being the shock at the losses in the Smolensk counter-offensive. What this book draws out is the degree to which Army Group Centre was stretched during July and August 1941, the persistent Soviet resistance and repeated offensive response to the German offensive. Moreover the failure to close the Smolensk encirclement is analysed as a consequence of diverging offensive moves by the thinly stretched panzer groups 2 and 3. This failure and the diversions to Nevel and Velikhe Luki as well as Yelnia led to a prolonged and sapping combat for the precious mobile formations of Army Group Centre. The "derailing" of Barbarossa is thus as much a consequence of German over ambition as determined Soviet resistance. The book's central thesis, that the losses suffered by Army Group Centre in the Smolensk battles derailed Barbarossa and prevented a continued advance on Moscow in late August 1941, is, however, open to question. The need to organise logistics, primarily rail conversion from Russian to German guage, would inevitably have caused an operational pause. The level of German losses in destroying the first and second echelons of Soviet forces defending in Byelorussia, whilst, heavy, did not prevent the armoured divisions of panzer groups 2 and 3 moving in late August and early September against Kiev and Leningrad respectively, and still being able to deliver the devastating Typhoon offensive during October 1941. In this sense Barbarossa was not derailed at Smolensk. The fighting and overstretch so well described by Glantz was resolved and mobile forces deployed to the flanks to clear threats to a continued Mocow offensive and support Army Groups South and North in achieving their Barbarossa aims. It is fashionable to describe these operations as mistakes or diversions. In reality an advance on Moscow in late September 1941 without these preliminaries would probably have left Army Group Centre even more exposed forward than in fact became the case in December 1941. In sum Barbarossa was inherently flawed because of the total underestimation of the scale of the task of defeating the Soviet state and its armed forces. My only complaint about this book is the repetition of daily Soviet orders and summaries which I think breaks up the narrative for the reader. Greater consideration of the battles of Second, Fourth and Ninth armies would have been useful especially as many of the divisions attacking on the western edge of the Smolensk cauldron were clearly heavily damaged - 5th, 8th and 28th Infantry divisions being later sent back to the west for refitting as Jaeger divisions. Overall however another excellent contribution to clarifying the reality of the eastern front battles of summer 1941.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2014
I've read many of Glantz's books in hard copy - the excellent Stalingrad series and the seminal work on the Germans in Russia - "When Titans Clashed". This is more excellent work shining a light on an area often glossed over between the frontier battles and Operation Typhoon - what happened in between.... But, and this is a big but, the proof reading of the Kindle version is terrible - there's some absolutely awful quality passages, almost unreadable without extreme irritation, where clearly however it is moved from a version for paper print to Kindle publishing has not worked and it has not been properly checked by the publishers with a human eye - I'm accepting of odd typos or glitches but what's happened here is very poor and they need to issue an updated, properly checked version.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2015
This book is difficult to read, it is very much a reference tool to be used with other books. Not sure that I like it to be honest , overly detailed and not one you would sit down to read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2015
An excellent overview of events, an absolute must for military historians and amateur buffs alike.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2016
See Barbarossa volume 2 comments
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2014
very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse