Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 April 2017
A zesty, informative introduction to Classical Greece, Some profound insights, considering the very accessible style.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2009
An excellent, well informed and engaging miscellany about the ancient Greeks, whose timeless and rich material in art, politics, philosophy, sport, architecture, science, mathematics, theatre, mythology, etc. still strongly influnce our western culture. A reminder that perhaps all Anglophones, speak more Greek than they realise. Well done to Charlotte Higgins. Perhaps one day I'll get her autograph on this small masterpiece!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2011
Very well written and presented in compact form. It is an excellent refresher, or gap filler, for what one may not have learned at school! It gives all the basic material one needs to understand Greek mythology and the founding of the Greek and other European civilisations and the influence this has had on European history and our own present day thinking, language, arts and sciences. It offers further insight into this fascinating culture which can enhance much of what we see and read. It has also awoken my interest in Homer's epic poems and the history of the Trojan wars.

My only regret is that it wasn't available in my youth before I embarked on a life of study of my English mother tongue, literature, medicical and scinetific terminology and our wonderful heritage of works of art.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2009
Informative, entertaining and beautifully written, this book tells you everything you need to know about Ancient Greece and leaves you inspired to find out more. The writer is hugely knowledgeable about her subject but writes with a charm and ease that manages to make even Plato intelligible.

It should do more for Greece than Mamma Mia!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2017
I found it boring, it didn't inspire me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2009
Charlotte Higgins has produced an excellent enchiridion. It is readable, informative and thought-provoking. It encompasses the essentials of Greek history and culture. This would be valuable as an introduction to the topic, but it also provides new insights for those who are already informed.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2009
This work gives a rather breezily overview of the history of early to post-Classical Greece. The topics included range from Homer's works, Greek drama and how Greek thought might be responsible for Keanu Reeve's greatest film, the `Matrix'
The author's easily digestible writing style is aimed squarely at newcomers to the subject, she seems to try too hard to be "with it" with numerous vox pop references which will soon date. The spectre of PC correctness is also present, with the implication that the ancient Greeks were flawed in that they could not anticipate the rarefied standards of the 21 century in the matters of multiculturism and feminism.
So, I'd give this book a qualified recommendation as a starting point to other odysseys into the classical realms.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2014
Entertaining in the extreme and beautifully written.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2014
Very fun to read.
Author covers most - all? - aspects of ancient heros and legends of Greece.
Nearly brilliant!
Highly recommended as tourist literature AND text book for beginners of Greek study...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2009
It's All Greek to Me
Very unusual and interesting. You don't have to a classical scholar or, in fact, any sort of scholar to enjoy reading this thought provoking book. Charlotte Higgins uses an easily accessible style; she makes excellent use of modern expression and clear sentence structure and completely avoids any suggestion that the readeer is being patronised. The text is fascinating and the "Timeline" and "Who's Who" are very well chosen. This is an excellent read. Buy it and enjoy the experience that awaits.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)