Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
11


on 23 January 2015
Dervla Murphy is one of the best travel writers in the world. She is entirely fearless in the face of physical adversity and makes a point of living among the people who's country she is travelling through. In this book she is taking a weather enforced break after travelling overland to India from Ireland on a bike. While she waits for the weather to cool enough to continue, she volunteers to work with the Tibetans who have fled to India after the Chinese takeover of their homeland. The portrait that she paints of these charming people living in extreme stress and poverty is very moving, without ever becoming overly sentimental.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 April 2018
Bought it for someone else, who is enjoying it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 May 2017
Dervla Murphy rarely disappoints and Tibetan Foothold is fascinating, knowledgeable as well as entertaining. Would highly recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 April 2014
I BOUGHT THIS BOOK FOR MY FRIEND WHO HAS READ OTHER BOOKS BY THIS AUTHOR. SHE LIKES THE WAY THE READER IS DRAWN IN TO THE JOURNEY
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 June 2015
Dervla writes a great story , you feel you are right there with her sharing the high and lows ! all her books are so interesting and enjoyable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 March 2015
Excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 January 2015
graet to re-read this
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 July 2014
this is a revelation, with a major eye opener half way through, for all us western Budhists, wont spoil it for you, I read it greedily.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 November 2014
Constantly interesting sometimes heart rending. Dervla is made of incredible stuff!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 January 2013
I arrived in time for Christmas in good condition, but I can't yet rate the book properly because I have not yet started to read it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse