Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more


on 15 February 2014
Written by Joel McIver and published in 2009, this is the very first biography of the late Metallica bass guitarist, Cliff Burton (there's a chapter about the life and death of the musician in another one of McIver's books, "Justice for All: The Truth About Metallica", but there's more information about him in this book). It covers pretty much everything you would want to know about Cliff Burton, ranging from his birth and childhood to his music career (particularly with Metallica) and his tragic death in 1986.

The book starts with a foreword by the band's lead guitarist Kirk Hammett; then there's a picture section for Cliff Burton; a locations map of San Francisco and the surrounding areas; an introduction from Joel McIver; then there are fifteen chapters about the bass guitarist, ranging from his birth (10th February 1962) and childhood, to his music career (particularly as the bass guitarist for Metallica) which was tragically cut short when he was killed in a bus accident in Sweden on the 27th of September 1986 at the age of 24 years; the aftermath of Cliff's death; Metallica from 1986 to 2009 (the year this book was published; and his legacy. There are also a couple more short chapters of "In Others' Words" from other musicians including Alex Webster, the bass guitarist for the American death metal band Cannibal Corpse; a "who's who" list of people linked with the bass guitarist including his parents Jan and Ray Burton; a musical terms section; a Cliff Burton discography including the three Metallica albums he was involved in (Kill 'Em All, Ride the Lightning, and Master of Puppets); and the index and acknowledgements sections.

I read this book with great pleasure as I have been a fan of Metallica since 2004. The very first of their albums I bought was their 1984 album Ride the Lightning, which I enjoyed so much that I then bought their others (except for St. Anger which I didn't think was great, after having listened to someone else's CD of that album). Many Metallica fans consider the band's work with Cliff Burton as bass guitarist to be their best material, which I very much agree with even though some of the stuff they did after Cliff's death was good as well. I collected a Metallica DVD titled "Cliff 'Em All", a compilation of bootleg video recordings of the band's live performances plus interviews with the band, which was originally released on video in 1987 and was then re-released in 1999 on Region 1 DVD. (If you do get round to buying this particular DVD, please make sure that your DVD player can read Region 1 DVDs as I'm not sure yet if it ever got released on any other region DVD including Region 2 for the UK and Europe - I managed to get a Region 2 player converted to a multi-region player in order to watch the DVD as it was something I was really looking forward to watching). When watching Metallica's live performances in their early days, you can't help but notice and admire Cliff Burton's very unique way of playing the bass guitar and he always headbanged and walked round on stage whilst playing his bass parts in the gigs Metallica played.

I very highly recommend To Live is to Die: The Life and Death of Metallica's Cliff Burton to all Metallica fans, and to those who have a strong passion for metal music in general.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 November 2013
I'm not a big Metallica fan but I do like their first three albums and I played some bass in my youth so was always interested in Cliff's story. This is a great account of a musical innovator that works on two levels. For the Metallica fans it is a good history of the early years of the band. For bass players there are lots of details and antidotes you probably won't find in other books. You'll want to watch the Cliff'em All DVD whilst reading this to recall his best moments.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 December 2012
A must have for Metallica fans. The real ones. Back from the 80`s!
This gentleman, Cliff Burton, was, and still is, the base behind almost all Metallica music and thinking.
I had a slight idea of what Cliff could be, a very small one according to the book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 March 2013
I've read it 3 times so far..at last a book for Cliff, you all know what a fine musician and a person he was!!
R.I.P. Cliff, we miss you!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 September 2015
Awesome book on a legendary musician
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 July 2014
Indespensable for fans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 June 2011
If you are into Metallica, and particularly if you were at the time of the infamous bus accident (yes, i am that old), this goes some way to answering the 'Oh no, how did that happen?' type questions that were instictively raised but never seemed resolved at the time. It also gives a real flavour of the man himself which is nice, plus real insight into what a seriously good musician he was and how much influence he had on the band. The tips on checking out early Cliff performances on Utube was a great idea and something i'd not come across in a book before. Many interesting nuggets of info are included, but for me, one in particular made the books purchase worthwhile - hopefully this isn't considered a spoiler - well stop reading now if you're worried. Towards the end of 'Orion' there's a pretty standard Hammet solo, then a haunting harmony solo section takes over, well that was Cliff on the bass! Written at short notice too. It's a beautiful piece of music that i had always assumed was played on 6-string guitar, i guess the change of tone should have been a clue. Might not mean much to the casual non-musician reader, but when i checked that bit out on vinyl, i was stunned.

In short - a very revealing, interesting and enjoyable read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 October 2009
This book is a very interesting book, doing a solid job on taking us through the his life, what his personality was, his attititude towards many things, all in all, very insightful. The interviews given from people close to Cliff such as family and band members was also very well presented, there is certainly no lack of effort put in. Especially helpful was the emphasis on his bass playing, perhaps tedious for anyone completely not interested in him as a bass player, (but then, this is the wrong book for you anyway). If however you are interested in the musician side of the man an well as him as a person, a very good book for what is otherwise, for fans anyway, an uncovered subject; Cliff Burton; RIP.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 July 2009
3 1/2 stars. Firstly, the good...

This book has quite a lot of interesting material, as the author has conducted new interviews with the likes of Harald Oimoen, Fred Cotton, Brian Slagel and John Marshall (=friends/'insiders'), producer Flemming Rasmussen, fellow bass player Dave Ellefson and most importantly, Burton's girlfriend at the time of his death, Corinne Lynn. McIver has also interviewed Metallica's Kirk Hammett who provided the foreword as well. So no question that there are many fascinating insights into Cliff Burton's character and musicianship. Not surprisingly, no one seems to have anything bad to say about him which makes the cynic in me quip, "c'mon, he must have had at least some weaknesses!" But hey, it isn't hard to believe that he was one of the good guys.

One of the positive things about "To Live Is To Die" when compared with McIver's Metallica biography ("And Justice For All - The Truth About Metallica") is that here he keeps his opinions (i.e. his 'truths') more to himself which shows that he has grown as a writer/person(?). So luckily, this book doesn't have that 'a disappointed fan whining' thing that would not have suited it at all. It has a more philosophical approach, shall we say.

Sadly, though, there are some negative aspects as well. A lot of the quotes - inevitably - are all too familiar at least to those who have read the author's Metallica book, and unfortunately the tautology, if you will, doesn't stop there; simply too much repetition in this book! Yes, there is no doubt that Burton taught Hetfield (and Ulrich) music theory, but does it have to be repeated like 10 times? (I'm glad, however, that this time McIver gives credit to James and Lars for being the primary songwriters - Cliff's big influence notwithstanding).

Some people may also think that most of the stuff after the chapters concerning Burton's death and the aftermath is a bit of a waste of time & paper. They do have a lot of 'what if' ponderings that will always remain just that, but at least McIver offers some, er, educated guesses, and I kind of agree on many of his speculations.

There are some factual errors. The one that really caught my eye is that concerning the events just prior to Burton's passing. The author claims that it is only now confirmed that Kirk and Cliff drew cards in order to settle out the sleeping arrangements on the bus. Nope. I saw a Metallica documentary (or 'rockumentary', whatever) already about 15 years ago where Kirk tells the story (according to him, Cliff drew the ace of spades!). So it is not really a revelation.

I think I can safely recommend the book to every Cliff Burton fan for sure, and also to a more casual Metallica fan, who hasn't read McIver's Metallica biography - those who have might feel themselves just a WEE bit cheated, even if this one has plenty of new interesting stuff too.

PS. In SOME other reviews that I've read (on the internet), McIver's writing abilities have been badly ridiculed! I don't remember having much difficulties reading the book, but maybe my enthusiasm on the subject sort of made me blind to it, I don't know. My other excuse would be that English is not my mother tongue, so I'm not probably the right person to make a judgement. But 'some say' and I can't tell either way.
22 Comments| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 December 2010
Joel McIver knows how to put the words after each other. Deep, focused work throughout Cliff Burton's life and his affect on Metallica. Nobody should not underestimate his crucial part for Metallica and their success. McIver tells it all...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)