Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
18
4.8 out of 5 stars


on 7 June 2015
Using it as a follow up to Alpha but have not used the DVD's but prepared our own studies based on the chapters in the book. We felt that the DVD talks were going to be too long for a home group context. Very practical and a good introduction to Christian living. Our group are really enjoying it and each session has been well attended.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2016
We have just started doing The Jesus Lifestyle course at church,following up the Alpha Course. I have found the book useful as I can read about each section before our meetings. Therefore have chance to think about it.We have only done 2 weeks so far but it is very enlightening.Not sure ,as yet, if I am enjoying it or getting as much from it as the Alpha Course but it is early days yet .
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2014
The book is based on the 10 commandments . I have been familiar with these from childhood up, learning them in school & reading them often either in church or at home. Nicky Gumbel opens them up in an easy to read style relating them to modern life. I've found the book thought provoking & helpful & recommend it
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2014
There are so many answers to how we should live in this book & all written with such humour & knowledge.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2013
If you've reading the "Sermon on the Mount" then this book is an absolute must have. Buy it with confidence!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2012
I read this on holiday in the Tyrol, so I had all day to think about it when I was out walking. It is a book that simply sets out the truths behind Jesus' Sermon on the Mount and how they relate to ones own attempts to live a christian life. Nicky Gumble has a great gift for setting out the basics of the christian faith for anyone to understand and think about. Anyone who has been on an the Alpha course would find this a good follow up book. I am going to read it again in the New Year . It is not a heavy religious book and has some amusing cartoons to keep one engaged!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2016
A practical Christian book for those who wants more of HIS presence in their lives... Sermon on the mount v well explained
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2016
I went on the Alpha course, and what I experienced really opened my eyes to life. There are videos in which Nicky Gumbel preaches about Gods love for us and how He wants to be in our lives and to have a deep relationship with us. Nicky brought me closer to God on that Alpha course, and he still inspires me today, that's why I've read, and would recommend his books including this one! Life isn't perfect, but at least we can be put on the right track again by reading Nicky's wise words. Life can be painful - but so is God!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2015
As always, Nicky writes clearly, from the heart and with absolute authenticity. Really helpful analysis of a wonderful but challenging teaching from Jesus
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2015
This is a great book for delving into the beatitudes. Written as usual by Nicky Gumbel with warmth & humour . It really makes you think.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse