Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 14 March 2015
As an enthusiastic beginner when it comes to vegetable growing, I am delighted with this book. It is very clear and easy to follow with information given in short, pithy bursts and always to the point. The 'what you should be doing week by week' section is especially useful, given my present scant knowledge. Along the way there is also interesting info which enlarges and enriches your understanding of plants and plant life. Highly recommended to anyone beginning to grow their own.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 April 2014
An interesting book for the budding amateur with lots of helpful hints and tips and a good reference guide for a long time to come
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 May 2016
I like Dirty Nails style of writing. Very informative. Would recommend this to anyone wanting to grow their own food, novice or experienced
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 February 2016
Great book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 December 2012
very happy with this, fast delivery, great condition, this was a gift and was really helpful for my partener who was just starting out!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 March 2016
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 March 2009
Just what I expected and it arrived in good time as it was a present. I would recommend it to anyone thinking about getting involved in growing your own food at home.
22 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 November 2009
This book is a must any gardener. Not only is it a great read it is also it packed full of information for all levels of gardeners. What is really wonderful is the inclusion of wildlife stories and snippets. It reminds us that gardening is not a chore in any way; it is a wonderful blessing. We must remember when we are digging the plot or planting the seed, that being out in the open at one with nature is one of the world's sweetest pleasures. Take time to smell the flowers, take time to make a friend with a robin, pause for a cup of tea. Thank you Mr. Dirty Nails.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 July 2007
This delightful book is a practical guide to enjoying the growing as much as the eating of your own food. It clearly presents a week by week guide to sowing, planting, nurturing and harvesting your own crops, plus some veggie recipes to further enjoy the fruits of your labour. Along side this are notes to engender closer observation of the wildlife encountered while in the garden or allotment and historical background to the food grown. It would be a stimulating book to encourage a beginner but being informative on many levels it is a really rewarding read for all who are willing to get their nails dirty.
0Comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 July 2007
What a wonderful book I have just read! It reads like a novel with the main character being 'Dirty Nails'. And what is it? A gardening book!! But it is more than that - wildlife, histories of various vegetables, soil information and for both the experienced and inexperienced gardener a week-by-week guide to planning, sowing, looking after and finally harvesting your very own veggies. Beautifully laid out and with a comprehensive contents page and extensive index, this is DEFINITELY one for the Gardener's library.
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)