Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 April 2017
Satisfied, can recommend!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2017
Super helpful. Get this
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2017
Very useful book
Would recommend 110%
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2011
Very helpful both in content and layout, gives examples of past successful previous statements, bullet-points on structure, advice on content.

I recommend this to anyone applying to medical school be it in 2011, 2012 or onward, the advice is still relevant. Just keep in mind the examples are to help you develop your own unique statement, not to take ideas from the existing ones, any plagiarism will ruin your application most likely, be it intentional of subconscious.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2013
Using this book to write my personal statement has been invaluable, full of advice, successful personal statements and thorough analysis of them has helped me write a personal statement good enough to help me secure an interview at Kings!!! Definitely recommend this book to all individuals (students/graduates) who are looking to apply for Medicine.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2014
When I sat down to write my personal statement I had on idea where to start, and the task felt unbelievably daunting. This book takes you through the entire process, in a simple step-by-step manner, which is very easy to follow. It isn't a recipe for a cookie-cutter personal statement, which would just be thrown on the pile with everyone elses - instead, it allows you to reflect on your experiences and suggests ways to include them.
It has lots of examples, which covers both undergraduate and graduate entry personal statement, and points of the best parts of each.

This book takes you from blind panic, all the way through to a finished piece, and was definitely one of the major factors in my getting in to medical school
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2016
Very sensible and helpful advice that is succinct and related in down to earth language. The first part of the book provides general guidelines for writing your personal statement and structuring it appropriately. These are helpful and a lot of the advice is common sense but it is still good to have it retold. The bulk of the book is full of actual personal statements that students have successfully applied and been accepted into medical schools with. These are then further split into two sections.
The first selection of personal statements are all followed by a critique of their positive and negative attributes and suggestions for improvement. I found the analysis and breakdown of the statements very helpful. By the time a student has gathered all their information together and are ready to start writing their statement they invariably find that they have too much. The analysis of statements in this book helped by helping you become more critical or ruthless when it comes to getting the word count down e.g. remove flowery language, don't be verbose, does that sentence actually tell the medical admissions officer anything about the applicant? There is also information as to which medical schools accepted that particular
statement which is interesting as I didn't realize that it can help to tailor your statement to particular medical schools; as some place a greater emphasis on academics while others may play greater importance on evidence of a wide range of experiences.
The latter half of the book has more examples of personal statements but these are not critiqued.
I enjoyed reading the book. It goes without saying that all medical applicants are invariably bright, have similar experiences, skills and interests so the challenge is how can you stand out from the crowd? This book offers plenty of examples and suggestions.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2013
I have nothing to compare this to but thought it was pretty useful. It basically just contains 100 examples of successful personal statements so you get an idea of what you need to write.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2014
Extremely good to use to get your personal statement started and really good for referencing. Contains so many personal statements it's great and good tips on which universities prefer what. Amazing book I highly recommend!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2015
This really helped me write my personal statement, and taught me how to help others. Although I am a bit concerned about it being outdated. Otherwise would recommend for sure.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)