Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 October 2012
I have seen several books on personal statement, but this is definitely the best. Divided by topics, it lists and explains the key points to be discussed. Instead of pre-packaged formulas, as some other book does, this one suggests examples and situations in order to stimulate the reader to reflect on his own situation and experience and to tell about it with confidence. This approach is very useful to help you writing write an original ps, which reflects your identity and experience, distinguishing from the others. The authors also indicate which university each personal statement has been written and presented to: this helps to understand what is particularly important for every medical school. I would certainly recommend it.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2013
Using this book to write my personal statement has been invaluable, full of advice, successful personal statements and thorough analysis of them has helped me write a personal statement good enough to help me secure an interview at Kings!!! Definitely recommend this book to all individuals (students/graduates) who are looking to apply for Medicine.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2015
Very helpful both in content and layout, gives examples of past successful previous statements, bullet-points on structure, advice on content.

I recommend this to anyone applying to medical school be it in 2012 or onward, the advice is still relevant. Just keep in mind the examples are to help you develop your own unique statement, not to take ideas from the existing ones, any plagiarism will ruin your application most likely, be it intentional of subconscious.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2010
I wasn't sure what to make of the book when I first ordered it but I've just read through the first 37 pages and it makes writing a personal statement feel like your hand is being held with comfort the entire way through the process! It lays out the expected structure and gives a wealth of examples of what would constitute as well written lines. Don't forget that the book also has over 100 personal statements which previous applicants have successfully used to get into medschool, as well as listing which universities each personal statement was successful with! Overall you couldn't possibly ask for anything more from a personal statement book for medicine. This is all you'll ever need :)
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2016
Amazing examples to help get your brain going and thinking about things you've done which you could include in your personal statement. My only complaint is that there is little (although some) examples of personal statements of students who got accepted to Scottish universities! Seeing as I'm applying to only Scottish university's (Hello... free tuiton!) that would have made it more helpful.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2014
if your looking for inspiration on how to write a good,structured medical personal statement this books does that and allows you to avoid making some vital mistakes-loads of examples inside and which uni's the personal statement was accepted from.BUT some statement examples are old making them quite pointless
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2014
I felt like some of the advice in this book was a bit outdated, and non-specific. It didn't really delve into detail about the PS different medical schools like. For example, a PS for Cambridge should typically be more academic, than one for somewhere like Manchester which should be a bit more about communication/empathy etc.

But the examples in this book are golden for helping you to write your own. Sometimes I'd just hit mental blocks when writing mine, but reading though some examples in here was really helpful. Don't get discouraged though! Most of the examples in here are exceptional!

This is a must-have for any medic!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2014
Extremely good to use to get your personal statement started and really good for referencing. Contains so many personal statements it's great and good tips on which universities prefer what. Amazing book I highly recommend!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2015
Buy it if you're going to try and get to medical school. Without this, you're at a massive disadvantage. With this, you can avoid those expensive courses and books which won't help as much. I got into medical school with this series.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2011
Very helpful both in content and layout, gives examples of past successful previous statements, bullet-points on structure, advice on content.

I recommend this to anyone applying to medical school be it in 2011, 2012 or onward, the advice is still relevant. Just keep in mind the examples are to help you develop your own unique statement, not to take ideas from the existing ones, any plagiarism will ruin your application most likely, be it intentional of subconscious.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)