Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 13 October 2017
it goes into Emerson Lake and Palmer unlike any other book i have read excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2001
Finally someone who really understands the energy, elegance and vision of ELP! For years pet hate objects, ELP is here shown to be quite different from the standard prejudices and easy phrases of most rock journalist, in their desperate concern with discovering the next "in thing" rather than something with substance and lasting impact. The moral is: Please LISTEN to ELP - don't be fooled by people more concerned with punk and musicapolitical correctness than chords and creativity!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2001
As a longstanding fan of thirty years,it was with great trepidation that I started reading this book.Was it to be a character assassination of the three members or the snide comments that are usually associated with the band, or an honest appraisal of three very talented musicians, never really given credit for musicianship and the advances they made where technology was concerned. I needn`t have worried,this is a book that is informative whilst being entertaining with plenty of anecdotes ,and through the interviews with each member of the band helps you understand what makes them tick, gives a good insight into there many influences musically and emotionally and helps show how committed they were to there music and there fans.The book is also very well laid out,and the use of footnotes very useful.There were many new facts about the band that helped to lay some of the mythology and when reading the book you are reminded of just how big this band were in the early seventies. All in all a very entertaining read and for anyone with a passing interest in Prog. rock a must read.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2001
An excellent book which is long overdue! A complete history of one of the worlds greatest bnds, if not 'the' greatest band! Everything you need to know about these three excellent musicians is contained within. A must for any fan.
The quality of the pictures is pretty poor i.e. they are faint, but on the other hand it is not an expensive book. Buy it for the text!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2001
The book has been quite valuable to me. In addition to huge pile of facts, it gives a clue to the dramatic destiny of ELP. A precise, laconic manner of storytelling is most winning, in my opinion. The juicy detailes, in-jokes and so on were kept correctly for the future memories of the band's members. By the way, is it possible to get Eddie Orford's recollections on his work with ELP? Maybe his role is not equal to George Martin's in the Beatles story, but nevertheless... And at last one specification. On page 240 (in the notes to "La Chiesa") it's stated: "...the presence of Feodor Chaliapin, the legendary opera singer who turned to film acting in later life." In fact, the actor was a namesake of his father, the famous singer, who died in 1938. thanks a lot for the excellent book! --Evgeniy Khodzaev
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2000
This is the first ever book about the legendary band Emerson, Lake & Palmer in 30 years, therefore my expectations were high. Now after reading the book I can say, the book meet my expectations. It gives full details about the individuals before the became ELP and goes through the whole band history up to the current days with many many insight stories. It also gives detailed musical analysis of most of ELP's music pieces and tells a lot of inside stories of the many tours these great musicians did around the world. This book verifies that it was especially ELP who broke the new grounds that many of todays bands regard as a given thing. The key difference is that ELP had to pay for it. This book really does give an honest ELP history and no overexcited fanish "pink view"
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2000
This is really the book every ELP, prog fan, musician or not , has been waiting for. You can find the most complete story of one of the greatest band of all the times; unknown informations, rarities, a complete story of this legend beginning from " Pictures " till to the future projects. Useless to say that a complete discography , tour dates list and a collection of rare photos is also provided. Really I consider this a definitive book !!!!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2001
Finally it's here. This monument of a book that so many of us ELP-heads have been waiting for. 30 years of musical history put down in a non-flashy, objective and fun fashion. The chronologic order is also well taken care of. What I really enjoy are all the interesting and at times funny anecdotes told by the members of the band. Not to mention the the very nescessary(foot)notes. I regard this book as my ELP dictionary. The book was a sure hit as Christmas presents come. Splendid work Messrs Askew, Hanson & Forrester. Highly recommended indeed!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2001
The times when I envyed Yes-fans, Beatles-fans and allother-fans are over. Now we ELP-heads also have a book. Thank you for writing it. A great piece of work. Accurate, distinct, well written, spiced with anecdotes and incidents - a must for progrockers and ELP-heads. Once again, thank you guys.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2001
Finally it's here. This monument of a book that so many of us ELP-heads have been waiting for. 30 years of musical history put down in a non-flashy, objective and fun fashion. The chronologic order is also well taken care of. What I really enjoy are all the interesting and at times funny anecdotes told by the members of the band. Not to mention the the very nescessary(foot)notes. I regard this book as my ELP dictionary. The book was a sure hit as Christmas presents come. Splendid work Messrs Askew, Hanson & Forrester. Highly recommended indeed!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)