Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
104
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 May 2015
A stark reminder of how British football has lost many of its true characters like Andy. He was as important to making City what they are today as any one of the championship winning players.Cheers pal.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2016
fantastic read by Andy morrison letting you into his life as a professional player and his demons.
I'm lucky to have met Andy on BBC radio Manchester for the blue Tuesday radio fanzine show and he's a great bloke. Highly recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2014
Bert Trautmann's biography made me feel sick with his Nazism; Paul Lake and Uwe Rosler's autobiographies were incredibly emotional; but Andy Morrison's is a whole new ball game. I read it open-mouthed, in shock at what Andy got up to.
When he was at City, he was one of my favourite players. What he lacked in skill, he made up for in passion. But his book reveals a side to him that I didn't know about. It's not just amazing how he managed to be a professional footballer, but it's a mystery how he didn't end up in prison or even dead.
Andy is brutally honest. Especially with revelations about a childhood incident and then his drinking and violence.
With so many footballers bringing out meaningless autobiographies a couple of years into their careers, this is a book that has a story to tell and doesn't flinch at telling anything.
And you just know that if Andy was still playing today, he wouldn't stand for any nonsense in the dressing room from players upset that they didn't get a birthday cake.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2014
Diary of a troubled soul trying to make the most of his undoubted football ability but more often than not being consumed by personal demons. Not just a read for Man City fans but a salutary lesson for young aspiring footballers as to what can go wrong and how you cannot just get by on your ability alone, however good you are.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2014
A very good read from a man who faced his demons. Brutally honest account of a turbulent life style but one ultimately that you cannot help warming to though I would not have wanted to meet him when he was drunk. An ordinary type of guy with steely determination who but for injuries etc could have become a top footballer, who turned his life around and became tee total.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2014
You'll struggle to find a book written with more honesty. Andy holds nothing beach and many ex players Gary his wrath. A tough upbringing and difficult battle with alcoholism make for a book you simply cannot put down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2014
I loved Andy Morrison at City, but after reading this book feel it totally glorifies the violence he and his family used to do on nights out in Plymouth. Details of going out *just* to fight people, it's not on - you can hide it behind being drunk but the intent was there before they even left the house, it's the fighting, punching, kicking, beating - and he goes on about it so much, glorifies it.
An honest book yes.... but not one i want to read again.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2016
Never heard of Andy but came across his story by accident. What a read! Just when you think all footballers have it easy here is one lad who did it and still is doing it the hard way and , by his own admission didn't help himself either.
With personal demons aplenty Andy was the sort of player home fans love and away fans love to hate.
Couldn't stop reading as Andy goes through one self inflicted catastrophe after another...... Mrs Morrison must be some sort of angel and Andy wouldn't disagree.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2011
great read. More than the usual boring footballer just talking about games good insight into the hard mans way of thinking make you think before abusing someone on the pitch well worth buying
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2014
I glad that I got to read about all of the things that have happened in Andy Morrison`s life, because I would not of wanted to be around what was going on. Great to read about a player who I enjoyed watching at City in the 2 nd division. Mark Craine.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)