Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Learn more



on 15 February 2017
Fuelled by industrial quantities of lager and cocaine, and enough Class B drugs to open a medium-sized pharmacy, the Bolton Cuckoo Boys became one of the country's most formidable mobs. In this book Doug Mitchell, a member for three decades, tells how warring gangs from Bolton's sprawling estates (such as the Tonge Moor Stanley Boys, the Horwich Casuals and the Billy Whiz Fan Club) came together to fight for the honour of Bolton Wanderers Football Club. The book is packed with gratuitous violence, laugh-out-loud anecdotes, drunken debauchery and an utter contempt for traditional enemies like Man U and the Scousers. The Cuckoo Boys also found the time to put Lancashire rivals in their place, with firms from Blackburn, Wigan, Blackpool, Preston and Oldham taking a hell of a beating any time they stuck their heads above the parapet. But they were also keen to take their brand of violence to other parts of England, flaring it off with legendary mobs from Millwall, Middlesbrough, Stoke, Bristol City and Chelsea, among many others. Mitchell is far from a one-man band and he includes contributions from a range of Cuckoo Boys and from the next generation of hooligans in the Bolton Youth. One of the chapters is dedicated to their clashes with a Bulgarian hooligan mob from Plovdiv - Lauta Hools. The Loko Pld lads gave them a good kicking after several street running fights and then sent the Cuckoo Boys on their way home.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 January 2015
Enjoyed re-living my youth, I remember being at all the same games as the author, the good old days of following the Wanderers. I forgot what a tasty crew Bolton had, big shoutout to all the lads at the Castle and the Starkie in Tonge Moor, good times. If your a Bolton fan or a football fan in general, this book is well worth a read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 November 2014
Excellent value for money
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 January 2013
I didn't enjoy this book at all a REALLY Slow start and it was almost half the way through the book that it started to
improve Only Very slightly. I have read dozens of this type of book and apart from the Villa book this was the 2nd Worse.

I would NOT recommend this book.IF it was .1p it wood be too dear! Sadly I paid Full price for it.
I didn't even bother keeping it or passing it on. the shredder enjoyed it much more than I ever did! 1/10
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 October 2011
Bought this book with no preconception and was pleasantly surprised lot better than a lot of the other books of this type that are out there. Obviously will be more interest to bwfc supporters who will be familiar to areas of the town mentioned in the book and the particular games but should not put other people off from reading it if this is you're sort of thing . The one other thing that I can add is that it seems to be written quiet honestly can't vouch for everything in here but a couple of the games and incidents mentioned from the earlier years I did see and it's roughly how i remember them . Book could of been a bit longer but that's probably because I was enjoying reading it .
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 August 2014
As a radcliffe lad (small town north manchester bordering bolton) i was interested to read this book as radcliffe and little lever (mentioned in book) regularly organised mass brawls with each other. It is true that Bolton hate mancs but i dont understand some of the reasons; he states that mancs were miles behind with the fashion yet he then goes on to state that all the bolton lads bought all their gear from manchester as it could not be obtained in bolton hmmmm? He also states the hates mancs as they invade all bolton nightclubs! haha im sorry but mancs go to bolton for nights out and vice versa its not invading its just proximity. He then states about going to manchester to play gigs and nights out and going mobbed up with farnworth lads which he also accepts is a separate town from Bolton and the Bolton lads were reluctant to accept a Farnworth mob. I find it laughable that he states the mancs are ten years behind re: fashion. ill let people who have been to Both bolton and Manchester decide on that :)
Other than his clear hatred on mancs and scousers i found the book entertaining as i have friend whose family and areas are mentioned in the book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 December 2011
This book must have been a lot easier to write than it was to read. A poorly written offering without a trace of anything new in it.

'We were first to wear...(insert over-priced brand name here)'

'They may have had the numbers, but we never ran from (insert club's name here)'

'They would attack scarfers, we never did.'

It is the same old hooligan nonsense that has been served-up for the last 15-20 years. There's nothing original in it, the 'writer' has a shaky grasp on words of more than one syllable and the cowardly defence of associations with racists is as pathetic as it is predictable.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 November 2013
Where do you start with this book? I'm an avid reader of this genre and read over 70 hooly books. There are none worse than this. Lots of inconsistencies and repeats of the same story by different people. EDL stories seem to take over despite the author claiming not to be racist. Has a chapter on Ipswich and talks about our playoff game being in the middle of March!! This has been rushed to print and it shows. Author will look back on this effort and have many regrets, stick to the EDL, more your level lad......
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 January 2012
Who? never heard of him ran with bolton throughout the 70s . 80s and early 90s, the nameplaces alone in Bolton are wrong the name of mobs and lads is poor . I think a lot of this is what he heard in the pub. Rubbish
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 October 2011
Surely the end of 'hooligan' books now.....id say there isnt anymore that can be said......

Ive given the Bolton book 2 stars as there are one or two good chapters in it, the Edl, Blackpool, Wigan and foreign trips are all well written and plenty goes into them chapters.....however some other 'chapters' are just one page long, there are quite a few of these which seems to give the book a bit of a rushed finish to it, a book of two halves to quote a football saying.....anyone interested in the culture will buy this anyway regardless of reviews and id say sales will be high in Ipswich as they have finally managed to make an appearance in a book, yes, Ipswich have their own chapter, one page, says it all really............
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse