Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Worried Blues Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
13
4.2 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
2
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£53.19+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 December 2012
I used this for part 1a and 1b MRCPCH in addition to the Pastest online questions and passed! Provides clear bullet points about all of the essential topics. As commented by another user, you will need to read around the topic a bit more to get a full understanding, but I just used google and made additional notes in the book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2011
I would recommend this book to any Paediatric trainee revising for MRCPCH. Useful for both written exams and clinicals.

Information is offered as lists with expanded explanations when necessary making it very readable, whilst also useful for reference post exams.

I still needed to read round on a few topics using internet/larger text books - but I think this is true when using any concise text.

Overall my colleagues who have taken the exam all found this book useful and certainly much better than the more expensive 2 volume "Master Course books".

For the written exams I would recommend this book plus online Pastest and/or On examination question banks (I also had paediatric radiology and concise pharmacology books for reference but did not read cover to cover). Make sure you go through every question of whichever question bank you use at least twice - really helps drill in commonly asked facts. I used On examination for Part 1 and Pastest for Part 2 written. Overall I preferred Pastest, as I found them harder.

For clinicals - this book, Clinical Paediatrics by Terence Stephenson (read both books cover to cover 2-3 months pre exam). Then see ward patients, attend clinics, Pastest 2 day course, MRPCH circuits book, communication scenarios book and online MRCPCH 2008 website (which had lots of video station examples) 4-6 weeks pre exam.

Sounds like a lot...and it was. Literally 2 months of solid work with very few days off (warn your other half before starting!)..but worth it to pass.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2013
I bought this book to help study for my MRCPCH Part 1A+B, expecting it to come in very useful whilst doing practice questions and making notes.

Unfortunately the level of detail is often very poor, with information presented in the format of continuous lists with no explanation and frequent omissions.

You're better off sticking with google, wikipedia and the professional reference section of patient UK. Free, better laid out, quicker to access and allows you to decide on the level of detail you need for each topic.

As my study went on, I found myself reaching for the book less and less, and eventually found it didn't get opened at all in the weeks leading to the exam.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2012
I bought this book for the MRCPCH part 1 and must say it appears to be far more relevant to the exam in terms of the detail and topics covered than the RCPCH approved mastercourse textbook. You still have to read around the topics but for revision notes it is a great book to get relevant and fast infromation about key paediatric topics.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2013
This is a good review of pediatrics essencial topics with small references but very useful of physiopathology. It has good diagnostic charts. It could be a bitr more comprehensive in some topics, like neurology or endocrinology, yet very handy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2016
Use this all the time. Manages to be brief and cover detail at the same time. Vg.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2016
Good book, good delivery.
No problema with ir whatsoever
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2016
Superb! Efficient delivery and high quality
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2011
This book takes revision "notes" to the ultimate level. This book is fine for extra detail providing you have a supplementary paediatric textbook; on its on the book is essentially useless.
The author often expresses things in a long winded, unclear way, which take a bit of deciphering on your part (or cross referencing against a proper paeds textbook should you have one.

One of many examples would be:
in ventral septal defect the book describes the examination findings ie. apical mid-diastolic murmur;
its only upon cross referencing against other text books is it clear that the mid diastolic murmur is caused by functional mitral stenosis which arises in a VSD.

This book is concise, but the time you save in reading you will spend cross referencing against other textbooks trying to work out what this book means!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2009
A comprehensive yet concise guide to all you need to know for MRCPCH part 2
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse