Learn more Download now Shop now Pre-order now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more


on 13 November 2017
An easy read and great for a good reflection about the importance of our time in the womb and our births and how this impacts our adult lives.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 November 2002
Odent's research is exemplary. His startling conclusion, that most modern medical intervention in the birthing process is not only superfluous but damaging, needs to be heard by obstetricians and doctors - as well as prospective parents - now. As he says, the very health of our civilization is at stake. Read this book before you consider that hospital birth!
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 December 2004
Michel Odent's writing has a style all of its own. He is capable of generalisations, going off at tangents and starting incomplete topics. But if you can stick with his charmingly quirky musings, there is genius behind his message.
He highlights the prime importance of life 'in utero' and the effect that a traumatic birth experience can have on us throughout our lives. He knowledgably and thoroughly illustrates the science (including hormonal reactions, brain formation and immune system development) behind his argument to give foetal life back the respect it is due.
But this is more than a book on childbirth, it is an open invitation to the entire medical profession - and anyone who cares about their own health - to consider how we view disease today. Odent suggests that most doctors are far too eager to treat symptoms of an illness (symptoms which are the body's way of raising the alarm) rather than look at the cause behind it. He encourages a comprehensively holistic approach, likening his method to constantly tending a garden to maintain optimum health.
Very thought-provoking - it should be standard issue to all health professionals!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 November 2012
For anyone who cares specifically about the health of their children and in general, the health of society. Easy to read for the lay person, without missing the very important scientific explanations. This book will change the way you view health and society.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 February 2014
Excellent book and I would recommend all health professionals who are involved in childbirth to read it. Enlightening and certainly gives you something to think about.

Book arrived within the time frame.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 May 2015
What an amazing book! Anyone who is interested in health should read this. Anyone who works in health care should read this. Anyone who is pregnant should read this.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 June 2015
informative, beautifully explained, I appreciate having read it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 May 2015
Great Book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 May 2015
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse



Need customer service? Click here