Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
42
4.9 out of 5 stars

on 16 November 2016
Every diver should read this book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2009
i have read about half of this book and it is one of the few,,,if not the only such book that gives me the 'want' to read and learn more. it is presented in a gradual way. as the author rightly stated,,, all the info can be found here and there on other books and research but found this brings it together in an ''easier'' way. not too complicated.

it will not be suitable for people looking for the heavy detailed scientific studies etc but this book touches on all subjects with enough depth to understand the basics of deco. especially intended for the advanced and deep diver,,, who wants to 'understand' but not become expert on the subject.
11 Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2009
A well written text which goes beyond the usual simple explanations of decompression theory and practice while still being understandable.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2010
If you are sincerely interested in the theory behind decompression and differences between different algorithms, this IS the book to buy. It may not be a good introduction to the decompression field of science, as I imagine that it would be hard to grasp for a total novice. But if you for example already are trained as a technical diver, dive master or scuba instructor and are eager to learn more about decompression this should be just perfect. For those divers rarely diving deeper than 20 m, the book might not be that interesting, although it still offers some extended understanding for decompression and dive tables, but you might be better of buying another book like "The Decompression Matrix" by Bob Cole (2003).
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2010
This book goes into the physiology of decompression without getting too technical or relying on lots of formulas. The author makes it easy to grasp the concepts and understand them with practical examples. There is a fair amount of jargon to learn, but nothing difficult.

The book is written well and hard to put down. I finished it in a week. The author does a good job of keeping it interesting while teaching you. Considering the topic, I expected this book to be somewhat dry and boring, but it is far from it.

The book also covers information about the history behind modern decompression algorithms and how they were developed, going back to the early days of modern diving.

Highly recommended if you are interested to learn about the physiology behind decompression and how the human body deals with diving or even if you are just a diver or non-diver, curious to know more about the subject.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2010
An exceptionally through and informative text written in language a non-Ph.d can understand, even enjoy reading. The author wrote it out of need for exactly such a text for his students and he has succeeded uncommonly well.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2010
I have been diving for 26 years and am qualified to teach. This book has made me aware of so many aspects of diving and opened my eyes as to what goes on whilst I am underwater and surfacing again.
A very easy to understand and very well written book.
Beginning from the history and discovery of the first cases of decompression sickness to the pioneering scientists who discovered its source and formulating the safe practices to attempt to avoid decompression sickness.
This book is a must have for any diver and an absorbing read.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2011
Hi everybody,
indeed this book does not need any review. From the first to the last page this book presents the most important aspects of the decompression theory and physiology in the best way the author could imagine. As a diver i can't avoid to appreciate the accurancy of the details present in this book although even diffilcult concepts are made easy to understand for everyone. This is not a book that divers should miss to read because there are a few chapters which provide knowledge on how and why we need to respect some procedures rather than others (e.g. ascent rate). Reading this book means to me having the possibility to be a safer diver and diving professional. This book shouldn't be missed by anyone and it is de facto a must-read for all the cave and technical divers.

Enjoy your reading and don't be too critic for those few typo Mr Powell left ;) !!!

A. Andreoli
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 March 2012
Deco for Divers is a bold book attempting to demystify and explain the mysteries of Decompression; why it happens, the effects and the various models to try and reduce the ill effects.

It might sound a bit dry and I must admit I was a little concerned it would be too complex for my fairly unscientific mind, but aside from the later chapters on bubble models and the decompression model calculations I've had no trouble understanding the concepts, which is due entirely to the clear and uncomplicated (but thorough) way in which the author explains things.

If you're a diver, even a holiday one, you really should read this book and I have no hesitation in recommending it to everyone who dives.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2010
EVERY single piece of information you need to understand decompression theory. Detailing the discovery of Decompression Theory, covering the history and progression in field data, including modern thoughts and theories. Every area is broken down into it's separate component so even a beginner can get a grasp. One of the best explanation of M-Values I've come across, of which I pass the information onto my Divemaster students to help them understand.

A must read, for sure. Also a reference book you'll keep turning back to again and again.

Buy it now and get reading.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)