Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
19
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
16
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 August 2017
Nicely illustrated biography of Michelangelo. Brings the Florence and Rome of the 15/16th century to life. The various Popes come and go.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2017
This is a wonderful biography. It is vivid and enthralling and will appeal to a wide range of readers. I finished reading it a week ago and cannot stop thinking about it. I cannot wait to get back to Florence and to Rome!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2014
Easy reading for a life story of a great artist because of the authors inside knowledge on the subject. Enjoyed it
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2014
This latest biography of Michelangelo is well-written and highly accessible to the common reader. Though there are not a whole lot of surprises here, it is well-researched. Gayford has done his homework, both with the works of art themselves and attendant secondary scholarship. Having read his "Man with a Blue Scarf" I have now become a fan. I plan to read the rest of his oeuvre.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2015
Great book, informative and inspiring.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2017
Only just received this beautiful book, so not read it yet, but it arrived promptly as always, and more importantly looks to be great value, in terms of both size and content. Can't wait to get stuck in !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2014
This is a first-rate buy. It is written in a lively style that makes you want to get back to it as soon as possible. It mentions many fascinating aspects of the renaissance, which may point readers in new directions, and it is beautifully produced with fabulous illustrations (I like the red capital letters at the start of chapters.) This is a book you want on your shelf, not on your Kindle (in my humble opinion). Wonderful stuff - more please!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2014
What a magical book! Surely no one can ever write about Michalangelo's life
after this book. I find it hard to express the pleasure it has given me.
And will give me in the future - I will most certainly read it again.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2014
This a wonderful read. Michelangelo seemed an unapproachable god-like figure before I read this book but now I see the real warm human being walking through the streets of Florence and Rome facing frustration after frustration but over coming the annoyances of popes and princes with his wonderful genius. All he wanted was to chisel the figues out of the marble and to prove the status of his rather difficult family . Well just read it and you won't be able to put it d own!p
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2017
marvelous biography, takes you right there and brings Michaelangelo to life
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)