Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
65
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£10.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 July 2016
Covers pretty much everything without the face numbing boredom of antenatal classes. Easy to read and pretty funny, refreshing to read something from the blokes perspective that isn't incredibly serious but still has all the info needed.

Each month has its own chapter and summery as well as stories from fellow dads. I found having it on my bedside cabinet ready for each month worked best in line with our own pregnancy so its all fresh in your mind. Easy to pick up and put down in that respect and in my eyes the best way to absorb the info. Well worth it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2017
Bought for hubby and we both enjoyed reading it. Well, hubby found it interesting, but slightly annoying that it was trying to be funny, but at least he learnt something and as a mum to be it made me feel like he was mentally more prepared (not that you can be mentally prepared for a baby!!!)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2017
A good read, actually written for men rather than women, loads of useful info, uses humour and anecdotes to get it across, taught me loads at any rate.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2017
Purchased for my other half and I ended up reading it instead! So lol moments but brilliant advice from a dads perspective
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2017
Love this book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2017
Brilliant book, great fun to read by both me and the hubby!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2017
Really good book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
There are many books on the market about pregnancy and looking after a baby and/or toddler, however alot of them are written from the woman's point of view, however this book does what it says on the tin - it's written by a man for other men.

Starting from the cover, it shouts out for men. The purple cover with silhouetted images of babies and toddlers is great for men. Most books have cute babies or pregnant mums, not what men want to be seen reading.

The book starts right from day one - what happens after the baby is born, one criticism of the book is that it doesn't cover pregnancy, however there are plenty of books about this subject, written for men, on the market already. I am not sure that I have seen any books for a child's first year of life written for men, there may be some out there but I can only remember books re pregnancy. As I said, the book starts from day one - what happens in the hospital, after delivery, when your partner/wife is exhausted and there is a new person needing attention.

The advice in the book is to the point and written in a easy to understand manner but there is lots of great information included. The book covers newborn babies and all the checks done in the first minutes, hours, days of a babies life, aswell as checks for the new mum. It covers what may happen in special care.

Each chapter ends with words from fellow fathers, giving recollections from other new fathers, showing that others have been through what has been written in the book.

The book covers the first three years of your child's life and it is full of great hints, advice and tips of the trade. It is great to dip into each month to see what to expect that month.

I would recommend that it would make a great gift for a prospective or new father, however I would also say that I suggest reading one of the more traditional style books What to expect in a babies first year etc to get all the information about their development - Although i do add a word of caution, remember babies all develop at different rates and in different orders, some may hit physical targets earlier than other, or they be more vocal. These books should be read as a guide but do not expect your child to do what they say, exactly when they say!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 25 April 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Having read Mark Woods' previous book Pregnancy for Men, and been very impressed, I was excited to see if this book carried on in the same excellent vein. It does.

Now obviously a book of this size is not going to tell you everything you need to know about babies and toddlers; Woods admits early on that he could have filled the book with information on just the first three days after the birth! But what it does do is give an accessible overview of life with your new little one, filled with helpful tips and advice. Every new father should read it, in my opinion.

The book deals with a wide range of subjects, beginning with the immediate aftermath of the birth and the first few hours in hospital, including the first tests that the baby will have, and the physical and emotional aftereffects of the birth on your partner and you. After that the book addresses the first few days at home, and then follows through the first months and couple of years of your new little one's life, right up to toilet training, tantrums and your first holidays as a family.

I feel that this books takes a great approach, in that it is very honest, open, non-judgmental, and at times hilariously funny - even on just my first skim-through, I laughed out loud several times. It emphasises how great this time can be for you and your partner, but also how very difficult it can be. It addresses what you will need to do for your baby, what you can do to understand and help your partner, and what you can do to support each other in the relationship. This is well exemplified by the part on breastfeeding. The book summarises the benefits of breastfeeding, but also highlights the difficulties and possible pain involved, and explains why some women may be unable to breastfeed or may choose not to, and how you as the partner can understand, support, encourage, etc.

As well as helping you as the father to support your partner and your baby, the book also addresses the issues and problems that you may be going through, which aren't always paid much attention to. It looks at the possibility of male postnatal depression, the feeling of jealousy or being pushed aside that some men feel when the baby and mother bond first or more strongly, and situations that may arise and feel painful such as a toddler saying 'I want mummy to do it, she does it better'. The experiences of real fathers dotted throughout the book are particularly useful in these areas.

I can't recommend this highly enough - it's an easy and invaluable read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2017
A must for the first 2-3 years. Following on from 'Pregnancy for Men: The Whole Nine Months', this book takes a tiring and often stressful time and tries to let you enjoy it.
It includes real stories from dads at each stage in the same format as the first book and generally there's always one that fits your personal scenario.
Personally I just read each chapter as my son reached the subject age but you could equally read the whole thing first and refer back when you get there.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse