Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Exclusive playlist - Elton John Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
19
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 May 2007
This book is excellant. It has some no-brainer manners but others that i would consider doing at the table. Each section the author has added a helpful tip section. It features some tales from experience that are rather amuseing. This book is ideal for parents teaching their children, a black tie dinner party situation or just for reading into the world of better manners.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2009
Disappointed with this book. It took around 20 minutes to read, and although was very well structured and easy to understand, it was rather basic. I did pick up a couple of pointers but overall could only recommend this book to somebody with very limited knowledge of how to behave around a table.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2014
Wish that data had been around when I was young. Learning the hard or embarrassing way is not fun.
What a gift for an early teenager. At that age you think you know everything and are also afraid to ask. Would not want to appear "dumb".

I was happy to know that at this age, I knew most of the behaviours in the book, but was pleased to learn a few more right way of doing things. It is on the kitchen shelf--handy by.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2016
A fantastic book. The guide that tells you everything you need to know about formal table manners!
Beautifully made, with a very attractive 'Art Deco' style.
Would not hesitate to recommend this fabulous and funny book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2016
This was a great book to read, and it didn't take long to do so. For me it was a reminder of how I was brought up, but even so some manners were perhaps even then not as they should have been. I always tried to ensure my family had good table manners, but sadly things slip as they get older and have their own children, but "granny" always tries to enlighten when she can. This is really good because it does tell you when slight variations are acceptable. Nowadays mealtimes are less formal - but buffets are still very common place - and we have all seen the piled plates! Read just for fun if nothing else, and little bits will stick.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2013
A fun book to give as a gift. I enjoyed reading the obvious but then again I had parents that knew the 'rules' of eating at a table amongst other people and not chomping with only a fork.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2013
I found this a good book to refresh my memory and brush up my skills at the dinning table.

It's easy to read and gives you most of the information needed for table manners.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2013
It's very readable. It can be read chapter by chapter or used as a reference for something specific, e.g. a table setting. The page layout is clear and the illustrations also.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2014
A really enjoyable and useful read. Reminder of all the things your mother or gran taught you. If they didn't this book will.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2016
Quite a fun little book, but not comprehensive.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse