Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
33
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 1 September 2009
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
A review from my daughter (14)

This book was not like what I expected. Even when I read the words on the blurb that implied it wasn't going to be as straight forward as a girl getting picked to do a film, I still assumed it would be a fairly predictable storyline. I was so wrong, but I'm glad!

The book starts with Jenna and her best friend Bea, auditioning to be in this film but Jenna knows she won't get picked out of all her more talented friends. However, the film directors want Jenna to be in their film even though she can't remember a single line. She gets whisked off to Scandia where the "filming" is going to take place. Whilst staying in the palace she has to be the princess in a royal appearance as, even though she doesn't know yet, the real princess has gone mysteriously missing. Then, after finding out that the King of Scandia has recently died and hearing conversations of people hoping to kill "Him" she manages to click everything in to place in time before the new law (against the King's last will) is passed.

This book is excellent. Every page had me on the edge of my seat and many unexpected turns cropped up. I am so glad this wasn't a simple book about a girl being the lead role in a film. This was much better!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 20 January 2009
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Kirsten Boie is a wonderful Author and her books are available in many languages. As she is German a lot of people are only just getting to know her works and she writes for different age groups.

The Princess Plot is her latest and it is a wonderful written tale of a young girl, that deals with mystery and intrigue in a predicament which she finds herself in. The reading age suggests 9-12, but I feel this should be raised a little higher to at least 15, if not higher still. It is rather a long book and if your child is not an avid reader, this could put them off the book. I felt it was a more advanced version and better than the Enid Blyton 'Famous Five' type intrigue and mysteries.

Jenna is a 14 year old that can't believe she has been chosen from hundreds of girls to play the lead as the princess in a movie. She see's it as a break away from her over protective Mother, and soon is on her way to kingdom of Scandia and is quite looking forward to this trip and all it entails. She soon comes to discover that all is not what it seems. She then realises why the Princess may have gone missing and starts to worry over her own safety. Missing the contact with her friend and her Mother, she doesn't know who to trust with her fears. She helps a rebel fraction from North Scandia, as she realises the wrongs done against them by the Royal Court which is in the South.

There is far more to this story but don't want to add spoilers, but Jenna gets a few surprises she didn't bank on, and not all of them bad ones. It was a well written tale, but tended to waffle in places, it was full of surprises, the plot was good and the ending was fantastic.

Even though it may be a little to long for my 13 year old to read who is not an avid reader, my 11 year old grand daughter who is an avid reader, found this to be `Awesome', which made me smile.

'The Princess Plot' is well worth a reading project for Mother and Daughter for those that don't read as well or as much as others. I find this helps my daughter to make sure she doesn't struggle with longer books like this and it makes it more enjoyable too.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I bought this for my 14 year old daughter and she instantly went for it. Being a Cinderella, Barbie, and Princess Diaries film & book fan, it was clearly the word 'Princess' in the title that won her over. This book, The Princess Plot, is translated [very well] from the original German. It's about a girl, Jenna, who's surprisingly chosen for the part of a princess in a movie. When filming starts in the small country of Scandia, Jenna discovers a real princess has gone missing there, and soon a real-life drama unfolds.

My daughter's review: "It was good, and although it all happened the way you thought it was going to happen, it had enough twists to make you not 100% certain of the end. For example when the mum met her twin brother you kind of assume it's her husband [but he's not, obviously]. Overall it was quite good, I was curious to find out how it ended, although it doesn't ever say who bombed a certain thing, and that was irritating. Other than that it was very good."

She rates 'The Princess Plot' as a hit with 4*, a high score for my daughter also given to the likes of 'His dark materials' and 'Inkheart' [she rates her beloved 'Harry Potter' books 3*, with Michael Morpurgo, 'Chaos Walking' and 'Wyrmeweald' achieving 5*]. Also check out 'The Princess Diaries' and 'The Princess Protection Program' films that are naturally quite sympathetic to this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 13 November 2010
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
When auditions for a film about a princess take place, shy and unassuming Jenna is surprised to be selected for the part ahead of her more talented friends. Things get stranger still when her dominating mother allows Jenna to fly off to begin filming in the small, romantic kingdom of Scandia. Soon after arriving, however, Jenna finds that things aren't what they seem - she appears to be the identical twin of Princess Malena of Scandia, who has mysteriously gone missing. Soon there are rebels and bombings and Jenna is kidnapped, which is when the adventure really begins.

The story has been well translated by David Henry Wilson who is an accomplished author himself. The pace is good, the settings and characters are real and well portrayed, the scenes well laid out and the progression and the resolution entertaining and satisfying. As a reality/fantasy novel for young girls it hits the mark, being light enough to be pleasure reading but serious enough to keep the reader entertained and turning the pages. My ten-year-old daughter enjoyed reading it, and then hearing it read to her again as a bedtime story.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 18 March 2009
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is the story of a girl called Jenna who thinks she's being cast as a Princess in a film but is really being a stand-in for a real-life princess. It just so happens that with a wig and contacts that she is the spitting image of the real Princess. In Scandia there is political subterfuge happening - the King has mysteriously died and his daughter, the real Princess, has run away to try and stop a new law that will persecute the Northern Scandians.

The book is easy to read and has a few twists to keep the story line going but I found them a bit too predictible. The language is quite simple and at times doesn't really have enough depth to it. I think this story is aimed at the 10-13 yr old age who will probably be more appreciative of the not too complicated story line.

That said it was an enjoyable read and I will look out for other books by this author.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 2 March 2009
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I reviewed this book, thinking whether my 11 year old goddaughter would enjoy it.

The story is about a princess gone missing in Scandia and a young girl in England, Jenna, being chosen to play the princess in a film, despite her fairly frumpy looks. Jenna's mother has never told her anything about her father or her family tree and is being strangely overprotective. The film company takes her to Scandia where the adventure starts.

This is a nice book, though a bit slow to start. I gave it to my goddaugther after having finished it and she devoured it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2011
I was expecting a fun read, maybe for people a little younger than me but I was after something like that. I may have got that in some aspects but in some ways this book is just as suitable for older readers.

The book was difficult to get into to start with - the narration is simple and seems a little stilted to start with. A hundred or so pages in I really got into it, the pace never really picks up and there are a lot of thing that are obvious and aren't discovered by the characters until the end, which was frustrating. The characters were also stupid at times and a lot of plotlines weren't plausible.

It was nice to see the development of Jenna from shy, overprotected schoolgirl to brave princess. I also enjoyed meeting the other characters of Malena, Nahira and Jonas, they weren't fantastically devloped, but it fit into the whole 'easy narration' thing.

The political intrigue of the plot was great and added a darker tone to what would otherwise have been a very easy and childish read. I loved the bad guys, they were very cartoonish over the top stereotypes but totally fitted in with the tone of the books.

Overall, it was a slightly childish read that I'd recommend to younger teens and middle graders as well as older readers looking for something nice and fast to read. The pace was slow, but the political intrigue kept me reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 18 January 2009
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
14 year old Jenna lives in a strict, regimented environment without much freedom from her overly protective mother. In a moment of rebellion she auditions for a part in a movie without her mother's permission or approval and is amazed when she gets through to the second round; despite her thinner, more attractive friends also taking part.

Relieved when her mother grants her permission to travel to the small kingdom of Scandia, Jenna's next audition is to pretend to be Princess Malena; her dark hair hidden beneath a long blonde wig and her brown eyes disguised by blue contact lens. She passes this test faultlessly as thousands of Scandians believe her to be their beloved Princess, and initially caught up in the adoration of these people and a royal life style, Jenna fails to recognise the suspicious and strange behaviour of those involved in her transformation.

With no contact with her best friend Bea or her mother (apart from some text messages) Jenna soon discovers her impersonation of Princess Malena is not to help this young girl at all but instead to cover up the fact the Scandian princess has disappeared. She is also soon embroiled in a rebellion between the North and South islands of Scandia and is instrumental (as her role as Malena) in ensuring a law to subjugate the Northern Scandians is passed.

Jenna certainly faces a multitude of challenges as she begins to realise that the Regent of Scandia and the variety of royal staff who "auditioned" her are unscrupulous and dishonest, to such a degree she begins to fear for her own life. Intertwined with her story is the real princess Malena's escape from her Uncle and her own involvement with a group of rebels intent on ensuring the Northern Scandians receive equal rights to those of the more affluent Southerners.

Kirsten Boie is one of Germany's most successful authors of children's and young adults books, having written over 60 books which have been translated into several languages. She certainly showcases her skill and experience by producing a book with plenty of action, realistically portrayed heroes and heroines (the majority of which are children) and a weaving plot knee deep in treachery and manipulation which highlights issues of racism and equality. Although a good book "The Princess Plot is quite long for a children's book (over 400 pages) which is possibly 100 pages too long; however in fairness with such a rich plot this author would have struggled to reduce its length without compromising the story line.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 20 March 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Slow beginning but read on for an ok Political intrigue for people who are 9 to 12.
I found it hard to read which ment took 2 or 3 attempts. I think it might be because i am 30+ and not the target audience though. But keep at it I do think that if 9 to 12 you will enjoy it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 26 February 2009
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Review of this book is courtesy of my 13 year old daughter.

This isn't your average fairy story about kings and queens, it is instead a story of kidnap, royal secrets, rebels and film stars. It is full of twists and turns that will keep you interested throughout the book.

To start with it may seem to be a bit predictable and you can as the story is setup; the princess of Scandia goes missing, then at the same time a girl from a different country who has never been told who her father is and who looks remarkably like the princess, is whisked away by a film company to Scandia.

However, soon the plot starts to unfold as it takes you go through the twists and turns of the book with many twists that will surprise the reader.

Overall I think this is a great book for early teens as a fun and interesting read.

A final comment from a dad - my daughter read this quickly and was always keen to get back to reading it, so it does seem to be a potential hit book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.32

Need customer service? Click here