Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Shop now Learn more

The Natural Navigator
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£14.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 23 June 2014
I was disappointed in this book the further I read into it and discovered that it was more philosophical than a useful guide to navigation without a compass. I think the most useful natural directional guides are sun and stars when it isn't cloudy as these are fairly accurate - and you do need quite a high degree of accuracy when navigating. The sun and a watch generally give accuracies of five degrees (the errors are due to the differences between GMT, solar time and local time) which is far better than guessing which side of a tree is growing thicker or which side of a ridge has been more exposed to the sun. If Polaris is in view you don't need a watch but I rarely walk by night as rough ground underfoot can be a problem in the dark and hills can be positively dangerous. I have to admit I gave up reading before the end so perhaps I'm being unjust - if I manage to finish it I'll add to this
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 August 2016
Thoughtfully put together, a pleasure to read and lesson in observation and meaning to what you see! Country walks all the more enjoyable reading nature's signs. In the UK, for the most part we are too heavily populated and road developed to get seriously lost and out of touch of help, but practice these nature navigation skills here and take them on a real adventure to remote parts and this knowledge might well save your life, and perhaps as importantly act as confirmation that your more conventional aids are working as they should be (ì.è. nature's signs being the reliable reference!). A highly recommended read for those wanting a deeper connection with the wide world.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 August 2012
If you have yourself surrounded by the latest technology on your travel adventures, including compass, GPS, and Google Maps, and you wonder how early explorers moved around the globe, this is an excellent book.
The author explains in great detail how natural features such as the sun, the stars, the weather, plants and animals can help the traveller and adventurer how to find directions. Not only where to find North and South, but also (in case you are lost at sea) how to find landfall by understanding the birds' movements. With frequent reference to history, including heroes in Greek mythology, Vikings and early Polynesian explorers, the book explains how methods in finding directions were developed and are threatened with extinction due to the availability of ever more sophisticated nautical and navigation instruments. Developing these natural navigation skills is not only very useful (if not live saving) in case your instruments fail, above all it is great fun to follow the footsteps of our adventurous ancestors and recognize, for example, the difference between ripples, waves and swell, or read the prevailing wind direction from a solitary tree.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 July 2014
This book works on two levels - it's an excellent read, so definitely wins points for armchair entertainment. As a practical manual, there's a lot of work involved in trying out the navigation. That's a positive, but you do have to work at it to get results.
This is a book that will keep me going for, probably, years of trial and error - and along the way I expect to learn an awful lot more about plants, trees, tracks and lichen - and stuff I don't yet know about.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 September 2017
Seriously fascinating book. I hope BeeB turn these into a well funded series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 April 2015
A lot of waffle, very little practical advice, meandered and worked its way round a limited number of themes without really giving much useful information. It's not a book you could take out with you and has few 'how to' guides of things you could go out and do - which is what I was hoping. Lacked enough useful diagrams with the required detail. I came away from reading this having learned very little.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 December 2015
Excellent book. Changes the way you go for a walk. You start to notice so much more.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 June 2017
Good practical read if a little facile.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 December 2017
Read it and you'll see why I love it. This wasn't the book I wanted but was curious and very pleased to have it. It's a keeper.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 February 2015
Excellent read teaching many aspects of natural navigation I am experienced in navigation but it is great to still learn things
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)