Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
217
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.14+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 June 2017
Great book. Nothing like the movie I hasten to add so if you're expecting that, you may be disappointed but this is way better if you're a comic book fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2015
Loved this series, only just got into comics and picked this up to get an insight into how the new Civil War movie might go down. Very good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2017
Good graphic novel, different from the movie but enjoyable!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2017
Awesome
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2017
This was the very first comic I've ever read. Made me want to buy many more comics. Great storyline, beautiful illustration and a great read, especially for the beginner comic reader.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2015
Brilliant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2017
Gripping story amazing ending would defiantly reccomend to family and friend can't wait tovread the second book I'm in love
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2017
Delighted with my purchase and would 100% buy again !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2017
I should start by acknowledging that I have been spoilt when it comes to graphic novels. Amongst the first graphic novels I ever read were: Dark Knight Returns, Watchmen, The Long Halloween, Hush, The Dark Phoenix Saga, The Killing Joke and V for Vendetta… I read these works of art and thought that for certain, I had stumbled into a whole new world of incredible storytelling. I’ve been chasing that high ever since, with only the odd moment here and there reaching such greatness.

Recently, I was treated to Old Man Logan which is possibly one of the best Wolverine tales I’ve read and noting the Millar/McNiven pairing on that venture, decided it was time to give Civil War a go. I was slightly apprehensive after being rather underwhelmed by Captain America: Civil War but working on the notion that you should never judge a book by its film adaptation, went in with an open mind.

If forced to summarise in one word, ‘disappointment’ would be it.

The story is completely unengaging, feels very flat and the characters (many of which have been crafted and developed over decades) are reduced to simple, base creatures who’s first and only response to adversity is swift, uncompromising violence: I don’t like what you’re telling me so I’m going to punch you in the face and keep punching you in the face until you change to my way of thinking.

It’s not that the plotline is a bad idea but to get us through it, Millar has taken the cheap and easy method of oversimplifying and in some cases changing the fundamental behaviours and characteristics of some of the major players. It reads like Captain America, Iron Man and possibly most notably Reed Richards, have all lost the ability for rational thought.

With no real tension or build up, the two camps are divided almost instantly, seeing the whole situation in the most basic black and white scenario. Sure, a few characters question their decision and ultimately flip, but even this is just from one extreme to the other, with no progression, transition and therefore, justification for doing so. It makes the whole thing just seem absurd. Sure, these are of course unbelievable characters, with unbelievable abilities in an unbelievable world but what allows us mere mortals to connect with them is their humanity and in this story, it’s just not there.

The artwork is good I suppose but something is lacking. It looks like someone designed the basics and let a computer generate the rest. The result is very clinical and precise but unlike the genius work of Jim lee, it has no depth, no soul... It’s sharp for sure, but there’s little beauty here.

I’m finding it hard to justify a two-star review but as that’s so subjective anyway, I’ll go with it and hope the written review is more useful. At least it was only £7.50 but I’d give this book away if someone asked me for it; it’s a waste of shelf space.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Marvel Comics' seven-issue Civil War mini-series from 2006/7 is collected as Civil War. This volume is the central spine of this Marvel-wide crossover event. It begins on location with the reality-TV show featuring the New Warriors being filmed in Stamford, Connecticut, where they discover four supervillains in hiding. They jump straight in and start a fight that ends with an explosion that kills hundreds of civilians. This in due course leads to a popular movement that calls for the registration and licensing of super-powered individuals, which in turn leads to a split among the superheroes that, come the enactment of the law, criminalises a number of the heroes who are not prepared to register (and a large number of villains also). Captain America ends up leading the "Secret Avengers", as the criminal element are labelled, and Tony Stark, Reed Richards and Hank Pym are the unofficial leaders of the "good guys".

The story sees a number of long-established relationships put under a strain, and ends with Captain America being arrested, which in turn leads to another big event over in his own title, while the mainstream of Marvel then went on to the Secret Invasion, Dark Reign and eventually Siege. This volume, however, was the first step on that long road.

It is well-scripted and illustrated, as befits a major event title - though until this book, that was the exception rather than the rule. The story can be followed here without reference to any of the crossover titles, and is very entertaining, with a good mix of action and skulking around in secret hideouts. The chain of events makes sense, and the characters chose sides according to their established characters, and not according to plot requirements.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse