Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 September 2017
One of the best books I have ever read. To the point but incredibly powerful. A must read for marketing and entrepreneurs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2016
Excellent book. A bit like an extension to Malcolm Gladwell's Tipping Point.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2017
Easy to follow and intuitive guide to getting your point across that keeps all stakeholders involved. A must for those involved in concise communication to audiences who are challenged for time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2017
Fantastic book about storytelling. It's quick and actionable. It's basically always in reach when I write something that needs to tell some sort of story or get a point across.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2017
Loved it, as a professional it's too easy to fall back on facts. Use the principles here and transform your message
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2017
Interesting book, more gripping than the other book I also purchased. Gave a better understanding of marketing and how to be successful
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2015
I found this invaluable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2010
A good engaging read, unlike many other books of it's ilk, covering why certain ideas and urban myths still in the mind. Great examples, and especially like the clinic sections where you can see a before and after to help put the ideas into practice.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2016
I believe this book should be compulsory reading for every educator. Indeed I will go a step further – I think it may well be more useful to us than any single book on teaching.
The book is about effective and persuasive communication. The Heath brothers start with the Q: ‘Why is it that some ideas are so memorable?’ A: Six key elements [SUCCES]: i) Simplicity (Keep it simple!) ii) Unexpectedness (Surprise = retention!) iii) Concreteness (Avoid abstract or ‘deep’ messages) iv) Credible (Is it believable?) v) Emotions (It is emotion, not reason that makes people act!) vi) Story (The most memorable messages are in the form of a story).
In analysing these elements they explain all kinds of interesting notions, such as ‘the curse of knowledge’ (p. 19). What would happen if you were to tap your finger to the rhythm of a well-known song without actually humming it? Would people be able to guess it? 50% of respondents said ‘Yes’. Incredibly, the actual number was 2.5%!! It is exactly the same when we try to communicate a message – we think others understand, but very often they don’t! (Moral: check that your students have really understood what you have told them or what they have to do. Get feedback as much as possible!)
Heath & Heath go on to stress the importance of ‘curiosity’ (pp. 84 – 87). This is the technique that soap operas, cinema trailers and some gifted presenters use to hook the readers/listeners’ interest. (Moral: Whether it is the contents of a text, or the lesson, it pays not to tell students everything up front. We can excite their curiosity even about mundane things.)
A surprising research finding on p. 89 is of great importance to us; Q: Which is better: consensus-building activities or ones encouraging heated debate? A: The latter! In a controlled study, 18% of students who had done a consensus-type activity chose to watch a short film about the topic, but the number rose to 45% among those who had engaged in a debate! (Moral: use more debates to get students worked up so they are motivated to find out more about the subject under discussion!)
The two brothers also give us a host of useful tips on how to make our presentations / articles interesting (which is of course of immense value for students / adult learners). Here are a few research-supported findings: a) avoid obscure language (p. 106) b) including details makes your argument more convincing (p. 139) c) ‘translate’ statistics down to the human scale (the human brain cannot make sense of huge numbers! – p. 144).
Above all however, remember to use stories. Human beings are wired for story. As somebody once so memorably put it: ‘Facts tell – stories sell!’
review image
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2016
The first half of the book is great, and the analogies used make it easy to understand but I found that around 2/3rds into the book there was a lot of repeating the same principles over again. I found also that there were just too many case studies and not enought narrative from the authors. Kind of like the authors didn't have enough to fill a book with their ideas so fleshed out the rest of the pages with examples. This could have been a shorter book which would have kept the readers attention better.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)