Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
49
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 May 2017
Great and fast delivery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2017
Very very happy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2017
Fascinating and informative
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2017
A cracking little book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2008
this is an absolute must for all fans of Paul Talling's website of the same name.It gives an insight into the lesser known side of London,from hospitals to pubs,left to decay or be demolished to make way for yet more luxury flats (rabbit hutches) or offices.Its very sad to see the old,beautiful buildings like the numourus public houses being demolished,its like pulling the heart out of London's history...................Buy this book its brilliant!!!!
22 Comments| 49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2008
Am I the only one who was shocked to find how small this book is? Of course, I should have checked the dimensions before buying, but somehow I don't feel too stupid for assuming that a book of beautifully shot photographs would be of a size where they can be appreciated... not some titchy pocket book.
22 Comments| 47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2011
This book would be brilliant in any size - this is a good and handy poscket one but, large to really show of the photography would also be good!
If you are interested in urban decay this book is a must! Whilst London is constantly shaking herself up to become more chic, more trendy & more stylishly in vogue and with buildings being ripped from their foundations in order to redevelop and maximise the (financial) return, these small often forgotten & definitely neglected pockets tell stories, hold histories and memories that without this book would all perish with them...
A personal interest if you are a Lonodoner but perhaps London from a different perspective if you are just visiting :-)
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2008
An excellent book, my only criticism being there is not enough of it!! The places are photographed beautifully, there is a full history of the buildings and to finish off with a section documenting some buildings that have been restored and renovated is pure class! This book does not disappoint, it is the most interesting book I have read in a long time!
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2012
Unforunately the book is not as interesting as the website - only a few words and a small single photo for each location is not enough to draw you in. I bought this after enjoying David Long's Spectacular Vernacular, which strikes a much better balance. Derelict London is like a child's book in comparison.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2011
Like other reviewers I was so surprised as to how small this book is. Too small and I really wonder why its such a small paperback when other urban exploration books are larger and hardback.

I was really looking forward to this book being a real life lover of derelict London and an urban explorer but this book disappoints. Its too small in page numbers, not enough writing about the properties and the photographs are poor with a number of the buildings missing stories (ie the Necropolitis Railway for example) or really have no interest - ie the Arsenal Stadium mid development (not derelict). I so wanted the book to be full of images of derelict building which were fascinating to urge me to view but some of the derelict properties are really not of note and some which are well known in the city are missed - for example those in the dock areas of London.

it is not all bad news though as there are quite a few properties which are new to me and some are of real note.

I hope the author or someone else runs with the idea and produces a book like Asylum or Beauty in Decay which are both excellent books on derelict and unloved properties.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)