Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
21
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 June 2010
I have been running websites professionally for a fair few years now, but search engine optimisation is not my core competency. Funny enough, I am currently right in the middle of recommending an SEO strategy for my current employer though, so this book came just at the right moment. Its content is very suitable for small business owners, web professionals and interested bloggers alike.

Using a lot of dry humour the authors manage to cover pretty much the entire spectrum from absolute beginner level to advanced user. Through case studies and practical examples they bring to life complex, often technical issues in a way that is accessible and practical. Although the book is just 200 pages and can be read within a few hours, it reveals further gems on re-reading over and over.

If you have always wanted to know more about no-nonsense ways to boost your site's search engine rankings, this book reads like a fun-filled, highly thought-provoking masterclass. You could spend hundreds of pounds on a one-day course, but for now you'd be better off buying your entire web team copies of "50 ways to make Google love your website" instead; compulsory reading (and re-reading!) indeed.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2010
It seems that everyone knows that "SEO" is some magically important thing that is vital to success online, but so often it is impossible to make sense of what is really going on and how it applies to your online presence.

Steve and Liam have done a superb job in explaining the tools and steps in an easy to read and highly applicable manner. It is also surprisingly enjoyable to read!... which is really saying something for a book on SEO ;)

The chapter layout and actions to be taken are clear and concise and you go away with both a broad broad understanding and a clear set of actions to be taken. Having those steps summarised at the back of each chapter helps greatly.

Whilst it is not substitute for the often time consuming research that needs to be done (as if that was ever going to happen!), it makes that research effort that much clearer and more importantly makes a positive outcome attainable.

Personally I was swimming in a bit of an SEO fog despite the huge array of online resources available. "50 Ways" was just the right level of detail to make clear what direction we needed to take.

For us, as a charity, the natural search approach (as opposed to payed search/adwords) has particular significance

Whether you have a simple blog or run a multinational online empire (... especially if you run an multinational online empire!) get a copy of this book, keep a pencil handy to make lots of notes notes and start moving up those search results.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2012
This book is a true gem. After you have whizzed through it you will see HTML layout the way it should be, attractive to people and attractive to Google making your site more popular and generating more traffic. Very easy to follow and very interesting.

Highly recommended

:)
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2010
I got this book a few months ago and really enjoyed reading it. The authors have explained concepts that many people find complex in a very easy-to-understand way.

I found the final section particularly useful; I knew that the internal structure of your website mattered to Google, but I didn't know exactly how, or what to do with my website. I am not technical, but I now have a much better grasp of this and will be referring back to this section next time we redevelop our website.

My team members are now reading the book and giving equally favourable feedback.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2010
The computer science behind online search is fiendishly complex yet this book makes understanding the essentials entertaining as well as informative.

Whether you believe Google is is a new Satan, prying into our private lives, or an informing angel that will "organize the world's information and make it universally accessible and useful", you can't avoid it. Even if you don't have a website, somebody else has probably written about you, or posted a picture of you online. That means you've been copied and classified, somewhere deep in the "Googleplex." So what is Google, how does it work and why should you care?

If you're in the business of selling anything to anyone, the answer is that you've got to care. More and more of your customers, clients and competitors are engaging with you online and the stats show that it's certain Google is the way that most are finding you. Or passing you by - because as this book points out - it's incredibly easy to slip off Google's radar when a little know-how could put you right in front of the people you want to target, for free.

Johnston and McGee have put considerable effort into making a dry subject engaging as well as useful, using humour extensively and appropriately. Buy this book because it's packed with pragmatic advice that explains how Google works and how to work with it to make sure your ideas, blog or business get found by the right people. Give a copy to someone else because of the fascinating peek it provides into everyday linguistics, mathematics and the quirky ways we try to express ourselves when we're looking for something.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2011
Telling a story is key we are taught, to getting the message across effectively. This is just as important when considering Search Engine Optimisation which can seem esoteric to the uninitiated. For some it seems like advanced maths, or in the worst case gobbledegook.

Telling the story of how Google organises their search results is the basis of Steve Johnston and Liam McGee's book "50 ways to make Google love your website". It is written in an easy-going style that builds a story of how the algorithms work and how a website designer can adopt techniques to promote their interests.

The `story' of the book guides the reader from creating a website for your users, through enhancing its reputation to changing it to fit in with Google's mathematic formulas. Rounding off the content is a chapter on analytics and how to measure the success (or failure) of your trials.

But an added bonus to this book are the '50 ways...' tables that trail five of the chapters. These provide a useful checklist for key points made in the book. Items such as remembering the Tripod of Love when improving your visibility on Google, or using the long tail of search and creating quality content. This is all to push your website up the rankings and hopefully make it more profitable.

There are many SEO books out in the marketplace, but this is one that uses simple terminology and a logical process to allow beginners to this world, access to its advantages. It is a book that anyone who wants to learn SEO but is wary of being overpowered by facts.

This is an excellent handbook to what can seem to be a black art and should be read by anyone who wants an easy yet informative introduction to Google SEO.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2010
For someone who isnt technical this is a really accessible book that made complete sense - definietely worth reading - also good for general business advice!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2015
Google change the game too often. I would make more money writing google guides seeing as they continually out date books like this by moving the goalposts after you have just kicked the ball. This was outdated in 8 months but was handy for getting to know how much of a pain it is to do your own SEO.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2012
What it says on the tin. Helps you understand how Google works. Read it before you start creating any sites
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2011
This is a superbly written book. Liam's background in communication science strongly comes through in the style and tone of the book which - although jam-packed with useful background, theory and practice - manages to entertain, and had this user laughing out loud at the convoluted-ness of Bob's Pet Fish emporium. Whether you are selling widgets or dog blankets, promoting world-class business assurance professional services, or simply thinking of adding a commercial edge to a hobbyist blog, this book will repay for itself many times over. Highly, highly recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)