Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
26
Obedience to Authority: An Experimental View
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.18+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 26 October 2016
This is one of the most fascinating academic books I have ever read. It is very clear and easy to read without being overly pretentious. Whether you're studying for your A-levels or a PhD, this book will be fascinating and useful. While terribly unethical, it provides some really interesting insights into the capabilities of mankind.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 November 2012
Although Milgram conducted his experiments in the 1960s his words ring as true today as then. He initiated his research into how far ordinary people will go when given orders by a 'scientist' to deliver electric shocks to a 'subject'. Over 60% were willing to give the maximum 450 Volts and cause the subject to scream with pain. Of course there were no shocks and the subject was an accomplished actor, but the 'experimenter' did not know this. As long as the 'experimenter' thought that he/she did not have responsibilty for the outcome, most would continue to give the shocks to a high level. The darkest times of human history bear this out, but at a much more mundane level, anyone who has worked in a hierarchical institution whether a company or a school will know how most people will almost instinctively obey their seniors in the pecking order without question even when an obvious mistake has been made by the manager. We are not the independent and autonomous individuals we like to think we are.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 April 2017
Bought this as part of my course - it is about one of the most infamous experiments in history written by the very person responsible. Not to be missed for psychology or criminology course work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 December 2015
This is an excellent book! It has a nice forward by Zimbardo which is worth reading. The Milgram obedience experiment is well known, but the book clears up misconceptions and goes through the 19 variations not so commonly reported. Easy to read and fascinating. I am an A'Level Psychology teacher and have put this on my student's reading list.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 April 2013
If you have ever wondered why people are so very obedient and work, and often so gullible, you MUST read this book. Milgram understand exactly what makes us tick. Surprisingly, money hardly comes into it, although this is how we invariably sell it to ourselves, as it is so much more attractive than accepting you bow to authority at the earliest possible time. True and startling what humans can do, with very little persuasion.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 December 2016
This is one of my favourite books of all time. It shines a light to questioning your own autonomy and the rules you adhere to. So interesting in so many different ways.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 September 2017
Handy book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 February 2015
great book and delivery - daughter studying a level psychology read it avidly in 2 days and was fascinated
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 March 2016
Thank you!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 March 2016
Very pleased with this purchase - good price at £3 and shipped over from the States
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)