Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
30
4.9 out of 5 stars
Birth without Violence
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£10.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 28 June 2013
After seeing some friends talking about this book on facebook, and reading the reviews I was intrigued.  This book is a combination of poetry and photography.  Pictures are used to illustrate the sentiment with barbaric accuracy.  Whilst reading it there were moments that I actually felt overwhelmed with emotion.  It simplicity compliments its sentiment. The only thing I felt uncertain about was the end, but then how can it end anyway, for the end must be open and invite action!

This is a testament to the powerful combination of text and image.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2011
This is an empassioned plea to us all to value and understand the third stage of labour. A very emotional read that stirs many feelings as so many of us have not had the priviledge of a physiological third stage.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2014
It is the most humane consideration of childbirth I know; considering the experience principally from the baby's point of view as well as the parents, for whom giving birth in this way is also an infinitely better experience. (I know, because I've done it three times this way: at home, following one rather medicalized hospital birth, with a lot of unnecessary intervention,and little thought given to the baby's subjective experience of their own birth.)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2010
love this book, such a wonderful reading. Everything written make so much sense for this unique moment in life of birth. Very important to prepare for the best condition and environment for the baby
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2013
I can't say anymore: if you're pregnant or have a pregnant friend buy this book !!! It's written in poem style which might need a bit getting used to but it's written beautifully and the content is heartwarming and will hopefully give any new mum out there the confidence that giving birth can be a very positive, wonder-ful and amazing experience. This book is written from the CHILDs perspective which is often overlooked / not considered when talking births
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2014
Excellent book- must read for all expectant mothers and health professionals. Very fast delivery through Amazon. Thanks!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2013
I would recommend this book to any women expecting a baby. It gives you an entirely different view on childbirth
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2014
Amazing book. Everyone who has anything to do with babies would benefit from reading it
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2012
I would recommend this book for all future mum or dad to be.
It makes you think that "looking after the baby" while a woman in pregnant has to go much further and beyond up until the BIRTH and the WAY the baby is born. In fact probably the most important factor in a child's life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2014
Enchanting, a must have in your active birth library. The book is arranged to look and read like a poem about birthing and moments after birth. It is a collection of most uplifting and inspiring words about this experience, I've ever read. Moving and beautiful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse