Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 21 May 2016
The best book I have ever read. I have been following a high fat low carb diet for the last 6 months for health reasons I have read lots of books on the subject but this has been by far the best. It's easy to understand and has convinced me that I am doing the right thing. A must read for anyone wanting a long and healthy life. Thank you Barry Groves
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 March 2015
This book combines some definite facts that are counter to the central dogma of the health establishment. There are other health-topics covered that less easily amenable to proof. The difficulty is in knowing which is which!
However, it is no harm to be skeptical of Big Pharma, as the burden of proof ought to be on these big companies to bring forward the evidence of safety and efficacy regarding the treatments that they promote and dine out on.
It may be foolish to outsource personal responsibility to politicians when it comes to health. This book helps everybody tackle the right questions.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 June 2014
I would recommend this book without hesitation for all those with an interest in diet and food related issues. It reads more like an academic text than most books on the subject, which is a refreshing change. This is amongst the most intelligent of books on the market - and in reality i can't recommend it highly enough.
33 Comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 June 2014
This was the first of these types of books I read and I found it most entertaining. I think for the two weeks after reading it I bored all my friends with the 'Did you know ' question. As it is gereralised and covers many topics it is really educational and like Loren Cordain's book it is very well researched.
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 December 2011
The book is fascinating and thoroughly researched, as the extensive reference section shows. Whether you agree or not with every single point the author makes, the evidence he presents, alone, makes you reconsider a lot of things you took for granted. He tackles numerous aspects of health, food chemistry, pharmaceutical and food industry issues... that anyone should really know. I would make this book compulsory reading at secondary schools and for all doctors, if I could; in the meantime, I am recommending it to all my friends and colleagues. This could easily be one of the most enlightening books you have ever read.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 August 2016
Very disapointing. I wish I had read the one star reviews first. Read The Primal Blueprint by Mark Sisson to make a much better and balanced attitude to this sort of debate. He at least does not dismiss out of hand the idea that healthy eating can involve fruit and veg as well as meat. In Trick or Treat it is all meat, meat, meat and the author does not have a very balanced view of eating. It has made me want to become a sensible semi-vegitarian who skips on the junk food and sugar, but I knew that already!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 September 2013
The mainstream media feeds us a lot of useless and misguided health advice. Often adulterated in the interests of the big food and pharmaceutical companies. Our health suffers as a result. Read this and make informed decisions.
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 May 2012
On reading Barry Groves book "Trick and Treat" I find a genuine man, sincere, and he has spent over fifty years of his life doing research, from the arctic to the tropics. His quotations from hundreds of other people following a similiar path as himself, does not reflect a bloody-minded egotistical individual. He could see patterns that showed themselves, leaving one powerful information to learn from and make a far more informed decision than one would find elsewhere. His research is staggering, and has to be admired for what it is, a dedicated search to find answers to the betterment of ones well being, as he has traversed time and space looking for answers from all parts of the world and covering mans time upon it. All that cannot be dismissed lightly, or ignored by those whose indoctrinated beliefs as regards diet have been exposed as seriously flawed. It would also be unwise for anyone to think that just one man has the answers to diet and well being, but Mr, Groves has gained the respect of many by the depth of his research.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 January 2015
Not yet finished, but this book is demonstrating with references to peer reviewed articles, something I had suspected for a while.
That old-fashioned wholesome food beef, chicken, pork, and BUTTER etc. sourced organically where possible (to avoid rubbish feedstuffs), prepared at home, avoiding processed foods must be a way to counteract this plague of cancer and heart-disease.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 February 2014
Whatever you decide about following the advice in the book, it is certainly eye opening with regard to how health professionals take more information from leaflets sent by the drug companies than they do from professional studies carried out by their own contemporaries.
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)