Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
30
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£19.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 August 2009
The exercises are excellent for either preparation prior to going on a RYA Coastal Skipper/Yachtmaster Theory course or for revision after the course. Two practice charts and all necessary almanac information are included. The exercises start off being easy and gradually become more difficult as you progress. Anyone working through this book should have thorough knowledge of the theory necessary to safely navigate at sea and should have no trouble passing the Coastal Skipper/Yachtmaster Theory Course.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2009
It is 9 years since I did my Yachtmaster Coastal Theory and this is perfect for testing my state of revision and actively revising by going through the exercises.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2010
You must have this book if you are studying navigation. Very good book to review the Yachtmaster Syllabus and useful if you are preparing for your OOW oral exam too (for the Navigation part of the exam only). This edition has not the same exercises of the old edition. So it isn't just a graphic upgrade. The only thing I didn't really like was that the charts scenario for this edition is a completely fiction. In the previous edition everything was based on the Solent Area. In this edition you have the space to do calculation and write your answer which is good. (not in the previous edition). My personal advise is to buy both editions, you will have far more exercises to test yourself/study.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2013
I am using this in conjunction with the RYA Navigation book which I bought with this. The exercises start easy getting progressively harder but if you've done the reading you'll cope. I suggest you don't write your answers in the book rather use a piece of paper that way you can use the book time and time again.
The lay out is good, coloured corners at the top of the pages to make referencing the Q & A's easy, plenty of pictures & photographs.
I'll use the retailer again both books were a good price and arrived earlier than the predicted date.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2013
This book is ideal if you are studying for the RYA shorebased navigation courses, such as Day Skipper, Coastal skipper etc. It help me out no end after a 10 year break from sailing/boating to get back into the 'swing of things' before heading off of a course.

Remember though this is not a learning guide, it is a set of exercises and tests and bases itself around the RYA navigation handbook (which also is a must read)
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2013
Very good, covers most of RYA Day Skipper syllabus, and comes with two brand new training charts, RYA3 and 4 The same as I have been using to learn with, the ones that came with my course. So if yours look like tea bags, following all the little holes you've made, these are a great replacement. Don't bother buying second hand - This is the book you want.

God revision for your RYA Exam.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2016
I dipped my first exam. This helped me practice and get back on form. Passed the exam on the second go. No explanation is provided though if your understandings weak so you will need another book/YouTube video to help you with that. However all the answers are provided and with a bit of thought you can work out where you went wrong and as such make changes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2010
I bought this vook to compliment my Day Skipper course and practise navigation at home. It is full of questions and the practice charts (RYA3 and RYA4) to keep the cogs ticking and help the information learnt in class sink in. Definitely worth it if you're considering doing the day skipper or yacht master courses and if you ever take your boat out for a little jolly then this could help to brush up your skills. also useful if you did your certificates a while ago and perhaps could use a refresher. I also bought Tom Cuncliffe's book 'Manual of Seamanship' in hardback, which is also very useful and has all the answers to the questions you might have!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2013
Got this for the Day Skipper course; quite expensive but it uses the RYA practice charts so helps you get used to them as you can waste time in the exam finding the place on the chart that the question refers to. Also gives you a feel for the type of questions to be expected.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2010
A must for RYA post- Day Skipper refresher work or pre- Coastal Skipper / Yachtmaster. It's written by an examiner so is straight from the horse's mouth and includes practice charts. You will need an acrylic plotter of course and a medium pencil and rubber. Getting it online was cheaper than from the sailing school.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)