Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
32
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
23
4 star
9
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£16.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 March 2004
This is the most up to date and comprehensive weather book on the market.I am a qualified Yachtmaster Instructor, and every year have students to whom the weather aspect of the Yachtmaster Course creates a real headache. This excellent book by the RYA has been voted by my students a real winner. It manages to get the point over clearly on what is a very technical subject. The drawing are really good,clear and easy to follow. Well done Chris Tibbs and the RYA.
11 comment| 100 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2009
I bought this book as reference text book recommended by a short meteo course I have taken. The book is very well balanced in concepts / theory and how they can be used to interpret weather, clouds, wind and long range forecasting, which was my main aim as offshore sailing was my goal.

As a RYA book I knew it should be accurate and good quality in content, but I was afraid about depth of its coverage. The book is very well written and without any fancying on theoretical aspects it has reference to the key concepts and not only the usual rules of thumb that are easy to remember but often limited in application in more complex contexts. It is not though a handbook but instead a very handy book with all that is needed.

Overall this is now my first book of choice as to weather forecasting. I used "Instant Weather Forecasting" by Alan Watts but find that RYA's Weather Handbook covering the same material in the same unequivocal way and more abridged in more subjects.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2009
If you are doing any sailing at all, BUY THIS BOOK. There is also a version for the southern hemisphere so pick your book carefully. If you are studying or working toward any of the Royal Yachting Association (RYA) qualifications this book will provide you with all you will need to help you learn the weather and how to forecast for yourself.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2012
Very handy review book about marine weather for meteorological beginners. Probably not of much interest to those with a stronger weather background, but that's not who it's aimed at. I thought it did a good job for beginners in giving a broad introduction to the subject, well written and illustrated, letting you go away solid on the basics. Handy if you're either starting out with your own boat or going on a coastal skipper practical course but teaching yourself theory at home.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2012
Progressing from Day Skipper to Coastal Skipper and RYA Yachtmaster sees considerably more knowledge of the weather being required. This book covers the theory of weather systems and how these affect sailors in practice. It has informative diagrams and easy to read, well written explanations. Worth every penny!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2008
Like Chris Tibbs articles in Sailing Today , this is easy to read and very informative. It provides a good base of weather knowledge and should be a must for any nautical bookself
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2012
Purchased this book to aid my Coastal Skipper course. Very happy with my purchase. The book is concise and easy to read and I sailed through the weather exam. Plenty of pictorial information makes it easy to read and remember.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2010
My husband is doing Day Skipper Practical and Yachtmaster Theory courses and needed this book. He is finding it very useful.Packed with information.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2009
Great book. Just enough detail without getting to complex. Just right for those looking to take Day skipper.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2009
the book is easy to follow and very informative. i'm considering buying the southern hemisphere as well :-)
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)