Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 June 2013
A book of legendary Yorkshire players, and the many disagreements which have dogged Yorkshire cricket over the years. Still, it wouldn't be Yorkshire without the arguments. This is a very readable book, even I suspect, for those who have had the misfortune to be born in other counties. It brought back many memories and evocative names, Trueman, Hutton, Illingworth from my very early days right up to the present time, Root and Bairstow. Even earlier players have their place, after all this is a book celebrating 150 years of Yorkshire cricket! There are plenty of off-the-pitch stories and insights.If you are from Yorkshire or know someone with an interest in any sort of cricket I would recommend this as a good gift (after buying one for yourself first!)
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2013
I bought this book for my husband's birthday. He is a Yorkshireman and likes his cricket. It kept him quiet for days.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2012
The Sweetest Rose: 150 years of Yorkshire County Cricket Club
is a definitive book that covers the history of Yorkshire cricket from its birth. It includes all the statistics without becoming a simple book of facts and figures. Histories of its famous players include an in depth view of both their playing career and personal lives. If you want one book of the history of the county, BUY IT
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2014
Purchased for my father-in-law who played quite serious standard in Yorkshire in the 60's. He thoroughly enjoyed it and has subsequently leant it out to brothers and friends in the area. Good book and good ordering and delivery service from supplier
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2013
The book arrived quickly and well packed. I read in a previous review that the buyer was disappointed with the quality of the paper the pages were printed on. Well, they are not the quality of some other books, but the print is clear, the book cover is very nice. What more do you want? It has the information needed. I am sure my son who is a supporter of Yorkshire cricket will be very pleased to receive it. For the price, very pleased
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2015
Yorkshire might not be the oldest county cricket club, but it certainly has one of the most interesting histories. Success and failure have been accompanied by regular fall-outs and arguments. In this book, David Warner covers Yorkshire’s time on the pitch and the goings-on in the dressing room and offices. All the major characters are here: Hawke, Truman, Boycott, Vaughan, Verity, Hutton... It isn’t a perfect – the history gets more detailed and a little drier towards the end of the book, shifting towards a season-by-season review of who-got-what-score-when, and the author has a habit of referring forward in the early chapters to what will come – usually involving Geoffrey Boycott! Still, this is a great overview of Yorkshire cricket.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2013
A very interesting book and well put together with plenty of photographs. However I was rather disappointed with the paper quality which is cheap and flimsy. While the book will be read and enjoyed I will have to be very careful with it as the pages are so thin they could very easily tear. They have a 'yellowish' tinge and remind me of the 'scrap pads' we used to use in the civil service in the 1980's. It is a shame that such a good book has been produced this way. I have given 5 stars because the subject content cannot be faulted.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2015
The greatest county cricket club of them all. This is an excellent history and a fitting tribute to 150 years of Yorkshire County Cricket Club. The great names who have represented the white rose are legendary and their feats on the field remarkable. The greatest moments in the club's history are here and it is fascinating reading. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2013
Bought this book for my brother-in-law who is a Yorkshire cricket fanatic. He was absolutely delighted with it. He goes on about it every time I see him and tells me all about what's in it - that'll teach me!!!!!! Well worth the money and it made a great present.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2013
I bought the book for my son-in-law who is Yorkshire man and he was delighted with it. A very well written history of Yorkshire cricket club.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)