Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more



TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 15 November 2017
I read this myself a while ago but purchased as a gift for a friend. It's a very well put together book, focusing on the psychology of the human mind and development and social history of man(and woman!)kind. The ego is a very interesting topic and it's explored here in a spiritual but balanced sense and the book is full of very interesting and useful information and facts from history as well as ideas and questions about the future and it really has been written and structured very well so makes for an easy and interesting read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 October 2016
I found this book very good as it describes the whole history from palaeolithic to present times, and the mindset of the agriculturist and village to city builder, in contrast to hunter gatherers. There is such a difference, and shows the reasons for underlying conflicts that crop up in our society. It is well worth reading. The seller is to be recommended for good quality and service.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 July 2015
This book should be part of the national curriculum. The first half is (from a personal perspective only) a bit of a heavy read, but well worth reading, the second, (more addictive in nature as it will resinate as to what has been occurring that we have personally witnessed / are witnessing) hence beautifully webs and wraps up the story of human beings to date. A wonderful book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 February 2017
excellent read I feel he is right on the button with this book but how do we as
a species get back there? pessimistic but optimistic at the same time
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 June 2009
This is in my view a well written and informative treatise on social history.Most of the evidence for the fall from a "golden age" is speculative but convincing all the same. The book is very readable and well laid out and contains some fascinating facts.For the most part the book covers the history of mankind from a spiritual standpoint without being too dreamy and utopian.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 January 2013
The basic concept I believe is valid and I really enjoyed reading the authors ideas.... but the downside is that they are not all of the authors ideas. There are far too many quotes referring to other people's work and not enough of Steve's own thoughts, research and words. Nevertheless I would recommend this book as it is very thought proving to say the least.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 November 2012
This book is both a wonderfully well written and well researched study of why the human psyche is the way it is. Steve Taylor offers an impressive hypothesis to why humans are both self and globally destructive. His level of research is phenomenal - the book is worth getting just for the range of authors and books he puts you on to. The more people who read this book the better. Buy 10 copies and make sure you and whoever you give it to stick with it till the end as a solution to the world's problems is given.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 February 2017
This is a thoroughly researched work with many examples illustrating each point. The conclusion encourages us to be part of a new wave of evolutionary development of the psyche.
It's a long book but worth the time spent reading it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 August 2017
Great enlightening book recommended by echkart Tolle himself! couldn't put it down
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 January 2015
Everyone needs to rea this!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)