Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
45
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 September 2015
A lot of research went into this book! Has made me have a clear view of why the world is as it is. Highly recomended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2012
Do you ever wonder why you are like you are? Why you need to go shopping, even though you may not actually need anything; why you watch so much television; why you get so impatient, angry and jealous of everyone; or why you take so many drugs (both the illegal and the legal kind) and why you can never truly relax.

Steve Taylor does. In this book he explains it is because of the Ego Explosion. Around 6,000 years ago some human beings changed, apparently because of environmental conditions. This change had a dramitic impact on their phyche, and the result is the civilasation we have today: 24-hour shopping and media coverage, an endles array of actions and attractions to get us out of ourselves. The problem we have is the "endless chattering" in our brains (between ourselves and the ego)and this means that we can never be truly at peace with both ourselves and the world araound us.

Steve Taylor is a Buddhist and in the latter part of the book he goes into examples of how a few ancient mystics apparently managed to cease this internal endless conversation that we have within ourselves, how they managed to quieten the ego.

But is anyone going to apply these techniques? I suspect that many people who read this book will simply go back to doing what they were doing before, so what is the point? Further, Taylor assumes that EVERONE (apart from the primitive tribes which he admires) is unhappy; "Was life really meant to be as terrible as this?" he writes. I don't think Cristiano Ronaldo thinks his life is terrible!

However, the book is very readable, if you can get past Taylor's prejucies. He does not like the three main religions of Judaism, Christianity and Islam. In one section he writes, "There is no doubt that Christianity has a very hostile attitude to nature." He bases this assumption on the general reading of Genesis 1:28 where God tells Adam and Eve to rule over the fish of the sea, the birds of the air and the animals on the ground.

Undfortunatley, Steve Taylor does not realise that these things (fish, birds and animals) are SYMBOLS. We have no "authority" over the earth, or its creatures; only over our own bodies, or more likley our own thoughts, emotions and actions. We are supposed to LEARN to control these. This is where our "authority" lies.

Further, as Taylor does not fully accept the idea of a Creator God, he does not seem to contemplate the fact that the current environmental problems of the planet (which he puts down to human activity, though of course, humans don't cause earthquakes, tsunamis and other natural disasters) is down to God. Maybe God is behind these activities, at least in part.

As the original humans (6,000 years ago) were driven by the natural events (the drying up of the fertile areas where they lived)to find other places to live, so maybe God is using natural events to make humans think that maybe there is something more to this life: once you know that money, sex, status and endless shopping does not satisfy then maybe you'll be more open to a greater reality. Taylore states, "We'll never be truly satisfied until we find God."

However, as our "ancestors" 6,000 years had to be made to leave their own Gardens of Eden to grow (experiment, mature) spiritually, so it looks like we are being forced to do the same. Humans, it seems, have to learn the hard way!

If you want to blame anybody for the current situation on the planet, them blame God. He put you here: "For the creation was subjected to frustration NOT BY ITS OWN CHOICE, but by the will of the one who subjected it" (Romans 8:20, capitals mine).

Now what are you going to do about it, lose your temper - again?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2008
Truly eye opening stuff, if the genesis in the bible deals with the "why" (as is the case with religion) then this is the history behind it. An all encompassing history of the world that'll make you see things in a new light, how sad and messed up humans have become, and what needs to happen to save our race. Very compelling read, though sometimes it dips a little too much into the spiritual side of things and may come across as biased rather than pure research. They should make this compulsory reading at schools instead of nonsense such as creation theory.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2010
This book is easy to read and to understand, but I felt that the writer is selective and one-sided with the evidence. Certainly his ideas are New-Age and would probably impress someone idealistic and looking for a convenient template to fit over history and culture. Having said that he may well be right, but I still found it rather annoying... it kind of felt like an old hippy preaching to me in a tipee... it would definitely impress a young impressionable mind.
44 comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2016
Very interesting and well researched book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2014
Interesting idea but very poorly researched. Steve Taylor seems to make assertion after assertion based on absolutely no evidence. He also glosses over anything which doesn't fit his theory and uses the most sweeping generalizations. Basically Steve Taylor sounds like that bloke down the pub who's interesting enough but you know basically he's talking a lot of BS !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2015
Everyone needs to rea this!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2015
Very good book....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2009
A fabulous book that contextualises modern day society and how we have got into the mess that we are in. A must accompaniment to Tolle's power of now and a new earth.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2009
This is a wonderfully & profoundly silly book; the book contains numerous interesting leads & references it is essentially a 'feel good book'; 'things used to be wonderful 'the golden age'; then there was the fall (principally caused by nasty men)& now we are slowly crawling back towards that 'Garden of Eden' world which once existed.

Perhaps watching a few of the animal 'snuff movies' involving African predatory species might re-establish a sense of reality about animal species (of which humans are just one example). The book harps on about 'female good' 'male bad' themes which are of course just worn out clichés, essentially if things had been so bad for the girls for so many thousands of years two things would have happened 1. The human population would have steadily fallen in number, or 2. The 'girls' would have got bigger & nastier than the 'boys' (that is real 'evolution' not what Steve T means when he uses the term).

As it is women are the way they are (i.e. lower upper body strength, smaller hands, not well adapted either to offence or defence in physical terms) because in biological evolutionary terms 'that suits them' & they have been the gender that has driven human evolution by the choices they have made over millennia
55 comments| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)