Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle George Michael - MTV Replugged Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 2 January 2013
This colourful little book is just what I needed to plan my walking on the island where I have never been before. The maps are excellent and the inclusion of all the details of how to get to the starting point of the walk, including bus times and stops, is really helpful. The delivery in the post was amazingly quick. Thank you.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2012
I already have the previous edition but am glad to say that there is plenty of new material in this edition to make it well worth having. There are exciting new routes, new maps and information. Plenty of detail and lots of walks are packed into a pocketable guide. Having looked at all other publications for this area, this is far and away the best. Highly Recommended.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2012
I just love David's series of books. We had some great walks recently in Lanzarote descending into calderas and walking around volcanic cones, non of which could have been done without this superb guide.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2013
Have used several books from this series, they are all clearly laid out and easy to follow especially when combined with the accompanying maps.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2006
Just returned from a 2 week holiday in Lanzarote, and really glad we bought this book, and the accompanying map before we went. The walks take you to parts of the island you would never see by road, and gives you the confidence to explore without wondering whether or not you are going somewhere you shouldn't be.
There are 32 routes in all, of varying lengths and difficulty, all very well explained. Don't be put off with the authors' pre-occupation with GPS - we don't have one, and using the map sections in the book, and following the very clear route descriptions, we never had any problems finding the paths.
Well worth getting the Lanzarote map which is a companion to the book, as it helps to plan which walks you want to do, and also how to get there. The maps you can buy in Lanzarote aren't very detailed.
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2006
I don't think of myself as a keen walker but the novelty of lying around swimming pools on holiday soon wears off.
We tried a route from this book - The Hidden Barrancos - and we were hooked. We only had 5 days but managed to try another 4 routes. All were brilliant. Great descriptions and clear maps.
Now we are going back to Lanzarote so we can do more of the walks.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2009
This book, along with its brother map (purchase separately), gives a good variety of walks throughout the island. The GPS info is very useful, though not vital.

Bear in mind the book is a few years old, so things have changed a little here and there (e.g. walk 2 there's now no need to go up to the road at Puerto Calero as the promenade now links in all along the coast). But as long as you recognise this, the book will help you discover the island of Lanzarote.

I would similarly recommend books from the same series for Tenerife and Madeira.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2005
I have just returned from Lanzarote having filled a whole week with walks from this book. The island is not the obvious choice for a walking holiday, but you'd be surprised what is hidden away from the typical tourist haunts if you are prepared to get out and look. This book helps you to do just that.
The routes are good and very well explained, accompanied by accurate maps and even photographs, some of which can be of great help when finding the route (Eg. The start of the 'Hidden Barrancos' descent!). Congratulations to the authors.
If the book has a down-side it's that the authors feel the need to wrap the walker up in cotton wool. On countless occasions we are unnecessarily warned that the path is 'skittery', on some hill walks we are warned to take rests facing away from the views to protect us from vertigo, or we are sent on the least appealing route to avoid an area which is renowned for its constant wind! Maybe these notes are added to protect the authors from litigation somewhere down the line, but I feel there is nothing in this book that reasonably fit, adequately equipped walkers should not be able to tackle. We're not talking serious mountaineering here, and all the paths can be tackled safely in stout walking shoes - even the 'skittery' ones. People looking for a bit more adventure can find many other tracks leaving and joining the authors' routes which head for the steeper parts of the hills (particularly around Femes).
I recommend the book whole heartedly, but urge the reader to do all the stuff the authors don't recommend: DO take rests whilst looking to the stunning views; When on the Circuit of Haria walk, make sure that you DO take in the peak of Matos Verdes - the view from the top is magnitudes better than that from the authors' recommended viewpoint lower down.
Just one more thing: The Montana Cuervo walk is described as the 'Gem in Lanzarote's Crown'. Impressive it is, but more impressive still is a look into the caldera of Montana Corona just south of Ye - a walk completely missing from the book. Park at Ye church and walk 100 yards back towards the village and then take a dirt road on the right (the gatepost has a 'Pacman ghost' symbol painted on it). A small path leaves this track on the left hand side after about 15 minutes and takes you right up to the lip of the crater. It's an amazing short walk, which can be extended by a 'skittery' wander down into the caldera, or an even more daring scramble around the rim!
0Comment| 44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2013
What a wonderful book and a clear map, this book of walks really made our holiday. The descriptions are easy to follow and the walks are varied of different lengths and interesting. We will take it with us when we return next winter, you see so much more of this beautiful island when walking off the beaten track. The book is also small enough to carry.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2013
Really handy walking pocket guide. I'm glad I bought it and I did a couple of walks also good size to carry.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)