Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
17
Edible Wild Plants & Herbs: A Compendium of Recipes and Remedies
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£20.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 26 August 2007
I am really pleased with this book. I am one of Ray Mears 'Woodlore' students and have collected a fairly extensive library on 'Wild Food'. This book is currently the most complete I have found so far. The recipes are arranged alphabetically by plant species and there are so many featured that it would take many years to try them all. Although the paintings of the featured plants are lovely, they are definitely not designed for identification purposes; so if you are buying this book you will also need a good field guide to identify plants with. That said, you really should buy this book!
22 Comments| 70 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 29 December 2010
This excellent large format book is well written and lovingly illustrated by hand and a joy to own and read.
It consists of chapters on each principle food plants, a hand drawn illustration, an introduction to the properties and qualities of the plant and then a series of mainly vegetarian recipes both sweet and savoury that can be made from it.

This is not a field guide, it is too large, unwieldy and precious for that. It is a book to be studied before leaving for a country ramble and then consulted again upon returning with whatever foodstuffs you have found.

A great addition to any kitchen.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 November 2017
Rather a large book which is too large to carry into and use in the field, but on first glances, a very informative and well put together book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 August 2007
Inspiring and tantalising recipes that are easy to follow and really work: they made me rush out to pick and cook. This book will add a whole new dimension to life from family walks to weeding the garden;there will always be something delicious to use.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 August 2007
This wonderful book makes you want to go out and forage, even if it is in your local park! The recipes are not only inspiring, but easy to make. From dandelions to nettle soup and elderflower cordial... the perfect mixture for the explorative foodie!
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 March 2009
I renewed this book so many times at the library, I was compelled to invest in my own copy. This is fantastic, with a calendar inside the cover to guide when best to harvest the various plants and full description of how to recognise the plant, what parts can be used and how and what for and a mine of recipes for food, remedies and a few surprises too! Makes me wonder why I still buy any vegetables!
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 June 2010
This book isn't really for foraging by itself, it requires previous knowledge or a handy companion book, like the collins gem book. However it does have an extensive list of delicious recipes, with fairly easy to follow instructions.

The author also tries to keep her recipes as traditional as possible, following the traditional recipes and perhaps updating them with more practical methods.

The illustrator has also done a fine job of the artwork, however they are meerly illustrative and not really for the use of identifying the plants clearly.

The first recipes from this book that I made was the Hawthorn flower syrup. I had no idea that Hawthorn flowers could be used as a flavour, which is good since the plant is so abundant in the UK. It is a delcious syrup, not too sweet and perfume-like like rose syrup, but a little more savoury. It goes well in cola mixes.

Overall a fantastic recipe book, and essential to anybody who wants to forage, because many books will tell you how to identify edible plants, but then you will then need this book to tell you what to do with them.
11 Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 August 2007
This is a lovely new edition of a classic book. The recipes are inspiring and I'd recommend it to anyone interested in exploring the wonderful new possibilities for cooking and eating that wild foods can open up.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 August 2010
I really enjoyed this book as it explains and illustrates edible plants (found some in my garden now) and gives ideas for cooking / eating as well as information on medicinal uses in the past. It even explains the use of a pesty climbing plant (cleavers) in my garden as a deodorant . They'll be well-picked next year !
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 April 2011
It was worth buying this book just for learning that ground elder makes a delicious cooked vegetable! So now instead of bemoaning the thriving weed that takes over any space it can I pick it and serve it up to the family - lovely fresh, organic, cheap produce. A fascinating informative book.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse