Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 March 2006
I have worked in advertising for over 25 years, pitched and won some great famous clients, but pitched and come second too many times to mention. I have read many books and articles on pitching.

In its criticism of our industry my toes were curling. Kean is right on the money.

Many talk about best practice and maximising chances.

No book nails- until this one- the crucial difference between coming first and second like David Kean's new book. As he says, it can be the tiniest thing. Like the margin between gold and silver in the Olympics. But it's everything. Do not even think about pitching unless you intend to win. And then apply a ruthless discipline to every part of the process.

However if all this seems like hard work, Kean points out that it is not hard work that makes winning pitches. It's much more about being clever; using experience wisely; making plans for what will go wrong; remembering that the pitch content is part of but is not the only thing that wins.

This is a book from someone who really has experienced a life in new business- and is presented with candour, good humour and some great real examples of what to do, and what not to do.

He helps us think more deeply about what is really at stake in the new business pitch and gives us practical help in turning us from enthusiastic amateurs (well we tried hard and everyone said how well we'd done) into serial, professional winners.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2006
Whether you are a pitch virgin or pitch veteran this book is well worth the read.

Having worked as a Creative Director in both advertising and pr , I have over the years competed in numerous pitches both nationally and internationally and like most people experienced on occasions the pain of what David Kean calls coming a "close second". Or as Jerry Seinfeld calls it "the champion loser".

Like a winning pitch presentation this book gets you to the point in a concise and clear way (i read the whole thing during a two hour train journey). It is well written and gives you the full picture of what winning involves. Talking as much about the personalities as the process. Illustrated with anecdotes (including the brilliant British Rail waiting room) and stories from David's own career. The book covers everything from planning your time and picking your team to perfecting your presentation.

In short, read it before your next pitch and you'll be able to spend your time rehearsing(rehearsing, rehearsing) your presentation and not your excuses for coming a "close second".
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2006
Really practical advice on how to win rather than receive the dreaded "great presentation, but you were just pipped at the post" phone call. The writing style is accessible and entertaining which makes it an easy - though always valuable - read. Really useful advice on the entire pitch process - not just the presentation itself - which, if applied, should greatly improve your chances of winning. I would recommend this book to anyone who has to pitch for business - maybe with the exception of competitors who will be pitching against my consultancy!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2006
Compared to typical books of this nature - this was a very refreshing and motivating read. Packed with really smart, practical advice from someone who has clearly 'been there and done it' many times and where coming second is never acceptable. I read it the same day it arrived and felt so inspired I have since purchased multiple copies for my colleagues. It has created a real buzz about how we can put the advice to good use and win in 2006. If you are serious about improving your new business performance - buy this book - your competitors will which is perhaps the only downside!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2006
What an outstandingly helpful book - which should never have needed to be written

It's just common sense from start to finish, but how many of us practice that?

We will all benefit hugely from it - especially those of us who know best!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2006
I have a dark secret. I have never read an entire business book. Until now, that is. This book is mercifully jargon free, practical and entertaining to read. For a topic so close to our hearts I can't believe no-one has ever published anything (good) on it.

My copy is already dog eared.

Whoever took it please return it to me asap - you know who you are.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2006
A great and easy, clear read. This is essential for those involved or thinking of being involved in beauty parades or pitches. Anecdotal, relevant and pulls the rug away from the feet of those who feel comfortable with second place. Makes you feel guilty about all that new work you didn't win.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2006
If you're scheduled to pitch for some business and you haven't read this book, get reading. David Kean offers insights, tips, and home truths that you'd be a fool to miss. Unless you're happy with coming second, that is.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2006
David Kean reveals the secrets of successful pitching in his book, in a way that mixes practical guidelines with entertaining examples of best, and worst, practice.
Making the good point that so many experienced and professional firms let themselves down by badly planned, poorly managed and under-rehearsed pitches, this book shows how to turn around poor new business and pitch performance through straight-forward techniques and advice.
I recommend you read this book and apply the thinking - before your competitors do.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2006
This book will give any agency/team a great head start on winning an important pitch. It's full of practical advice from an experienced old hand, and is written in a way that is exactly what you want under the pressure of a big pitch - it's clear, succinct and energising. Anyone pitching should be given a copy of this book at the start of the process.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)