Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 4 September 2013
The book does make for an interesting read but it is definitely more a story of one mans conversion carried out by professionals and not himself. Lacks practical advice and even a simple order of works. Was left a little disappointed and sold on immediately
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2014
A leisure drive promotion manual! Outdated
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2012
Purchased this book hoping it would give an insight into converting a VW Transporter Panel Van to a Camper. The book is little more than a documentary of the author farming out the conversation to a number of 3rd parties. Comes across as a recommendation of 3rd parties to complete the conversion rather than a guide from someone who has single handedly converted a camper themselves. Farming out all of the work is easy and takes little knowledge, understanding or effort. Don't worry, once I've completed my own conversation I will probably write my own book which will give all of the pitfuls and cost cutting ways of a DIY Camper Conversation. I will have learnt through trial and error and my own mistakes.Watch this space.....
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2014
i found this book handy in certain aspects, and it has given me some pointers in the right directions, a good basic guide
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2009
This book should be renamed "How to Pay Someone Else to convert your (mainly)T5 to a camper, while you take a lot of photographs."
Nearly everything is 'off the shelf,' from & fitted by a manufacturer or agent - And done well - but it's not DIY as implied & few of us have that sort of money.
Lot's of - 'don't try this at home/get a registered Corgi/Electrician/Converter' to do this for you (though you could do a bit, though we're not going to tell you how...)
There are almost no useful diagrams or schematics for the water or electrics. No dimensions for units, directions for cable runs. Nothing about fitting your own rock&roll bed, seat belts, carpet lining...The list is sadly endless.
If you are doing a DIY - look at both the Build your own Motorcaravan & the Motorcaravan Manual from Haynes by J Wickersham - While these are not VW specific, but they treat you as an adult & have information you can use!
0Comment| 48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2008
I've just received my copy of the book today from Amazon. I'm very disappointed, it should be titled "How Leisure Drive convert a T5 van to camper". I'm thinking of doing a partial conversion of a T5, hence my purchase. I was expecting details of how to go about doing this myself. For example, furniture plans/templates with instructions for furniture construction etc. This book is just an advert for the Leisure Drive conversion company, it shows them converting a van, albeit with lots of photos. Don't waste your money on this book if you're planning a Self Build and need some how to do it instructions.
22 Comments| 97 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2008
This book sadly does not do what it says in the title. It is an inconsistent collection of photos that the author has collected during the conversion of her own vw T5 carried out by professionals. It gives a vague description of how certain things were done but nowhere near the level required for a DIY conversion. Even worse at times it includes the manufactures instructions for certain products. The book is neither original nor interesting, it is hard to make a positive comment. In summary I feel cheated paying for this information which could easily be found from google, or instructions from camper-van products!
22 Comments| 65 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2012
this book is not what i was looking for it spends too much time explaining things that are then stated as not possible for the DIY converter. interior lining information good but little on insulation. no information on cable runs. it seems that this is a promotion book for leisuredrive and not a viable guide.
I would not recommend this book to anyone other than a leisuredrive agent.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2012
Don't buy this book if you want any practical advice on how to convert a campervan. This book just documents the authors expensive professional conversion of his campervan - by professionals. If I was going to do that why would I need a manual in the first place? It gives no practical advice on dimensions, material selection, fitting or anything you need to do a DIY conversion. This is just an elaborate advertisement for the company Leisure Drive - don't buy, it's a waste of money! Wish I'd read the other reviews before shelling out. Again - don't waste your money on this, it's just an expensive brochure for Leisure Drive.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2011
Good if you're already very good at serious DIY. You're going to need a good friend as well to help and hold things for you.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)