Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
8
4.0 out of 5 stars


VINE VOICEon 25 May 2010
This is a really enjoyable read. Lewis Gilbert's career has taken him from bit parts in Will Hay comedies to directing three Bond movies and winning Baftas and Oscars with the likes of Educating Rita and Shirley Valentine. The book is full of anecdotes and fascinating insights into the British film industry, as well as warm and witty personal story. This is perfect for anyone with any interest in film.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2013
Enjoyed every page of this book.When you discover the massive contribution to the British film industry
(James Bond ,Carve Her Name With Pride,Alfie, Educating Rita etc) he should be a household outside the
industry as well.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2010
I thoroughly enjoyed this book, being both a James Bond fan and a fan of films generally. However, I must confess that I am ever so slightly biased as about two years ago I was fortunate enough to have lunch with Lewis Gilbert. He was utterly fascinating and a lovely man full of amazing stories not just about the Bond films but about film making generally. He provided an insight into the actors he has worked with over the years (from the good and the great through to the awful) as well as a few revelations about how some of the big studios worked. He told me during our meeting that he was writing his autobiography and I have eagerly awaited it. It did not disappoint. I am with Michael Winner on this one. His review went something along the lines of ... buy it, it is a great read. Simple as that.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 February 2016
Legendary director who has written a book worth reading if you're into knowing the process of film making and the back story to some of the world's most memorable films. I love this guy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2012
If only all biographies were were as readable. Fascinating career beautifully written giving a real insight into what a producer director does. Delightfully gossipy.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2017
There were more than twenty blank pages whilst reading this book, sadly impossible to review.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2010
I had a nodding acquaintance with the author as i used to sit in the same section of the West Stand as he did at Highbury.So when i saw one of his films on tv i would have a brief discussion with him about it.He made so many of the best known British films of the second half of the 20th Century.He tells so many amusing stories and charts his progress throgh the minefields of the film industry.It is though slightly frustrating that he omits any mention whatsoever of films such as "Albert RN" "The Sea Shall Not Have Them" "Cast A Dark Shadow" and gives one paragraph to "Light Up The Sky" and one sentance to "Operation Daybreak".On the other hand he devotes a chapter each to "The Adventurers" and Friends" which even his nearest and dearest must have long forgotten about.Unfortunately at the same time he devotes chapters to matters which are of little interest to the average reader.One such chapter is devoted to the problems of one of his sons friends and another to the sad story of a disabled granddaughter.So whilst it is a good read if you are a fan of British movies you will at certain points want to tear your hair out in frustration.A tougher editor was called for.Nevertheless worth reading.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2010
This was a gift that has pleased the recipient. Shame that it took an inordinate amount of time for delivery particularly since the order was placed right after a TV promotion of the book by Lewis Gilbert. In addition, the first version sent had numerous pages stuck together and had to be returned by the recipient and replaced.
44 Comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here