Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Handmade Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
63
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£14.18+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 May 2013
This review is about the product rather than the content - which of course is great.
The sub £2 price tempted me to try this on Kindle for my Nexus 7.
Bit disappointing really. Tiny text. And the option to zoom on individual panels is very slow. So not a great reading experience and I won't be repeating it for other Dredd titles going cheap.
Might be better on an iPad.

Wish I'd seen a review like this before buying it. Dredd deserves 5 stars.
11 comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2012
Whilst the first volume of The Complete Case Files is made up almost completely of short stories this volume presents us with two Judge Dredd epics, and possibly the best epics ever written about Dredd.
This volume kicks off straight away with "The Cursed Earth". The story takes up nearly half of the book and charts Dredd's mission to go from Mega City 1 (New York) to take a vaccine which is killing all the inhabitants of Mega City 2 (Los Angeles). Superb writing and artwork has made this story a Dredd classic and should not be missed.

Following directly on from "The Cursed Earth" is "The Day The Law Died". This story takes up almost all of the remainder of the book and is on an equal par with "The Cursed Earth" in my opinion.

I deliberately have not gone into too much detail about the stories as I think it's best that you read and discover them for yourself. Suffice to say I think that volume 2 of The Complete Case Files is the best of the lot.

Highly recommended.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2006
Whereas the continuity of the first Dredd Case Files collection was very slap-dash, here we start to get a lot of much-needed history and backstory for Dredd's world, establishing why the Judges came about, how their world became like it is, what surrounds the city, etc. In short, Dredd's world finally feels three-dimensional and fully-realised, and is much the better for it.

The bulk of the book is taken up by Dredd's first two epics, and this creates a far more stable line-up of creators (only two writers, for instance) that again give the adventures a more coherent voice and feel. The first tale, Pat Mills' The Cursed Earth, is absolutely manic - mutants, tyrannosuars, vampires, aliens, punk bikers, vengeful robot armies and gambling-obsessed mafia judges all throw themselves at Dredd in a roaring blood and guts epic that never lets up once. By the time you get to the base-under-seige ending, you'll actually be breathless, I guarantee it. John Wagner's The Day the Law Died slows things down (but only a little) and lets a raving maniac take complete power of Mega-city One. The results are too brilliantly mad-cap to go into here, but the wonderful satire and black humour in this tale mean the more unstable line-up of artists doesn't really matter. It's worth it anyway just to see a goldfish become Deputy Chief Judge.

As for the art - Mike McMahon and Brian Bolland are of course the stars, dominating the book as they do, McMahon's sometimes scratchy-looking art still conveying a madcap energy and glee at working on such stories, and Bolland producing some of the most intricate, detailed, well-handled art in comics. An essential purchase, containing classic Dredd tales only possibly bettered by what's to come in Books 4 and 5...
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2006
As mentioned in other reviews here, by comparison with the artwork of todays beautifully rendered graphic novels this belongs to a different era.

But what an era!

If you are looking purely for the action (good though it is) you are missing half the point. Even today the writing and the satire is fresh and effective. The dark humour is as shocking now as it was then. When Dredd scrawls at the end of one memorable episode that sometimes the human race makes him sick, you know exactly where he is coming from. (in this particular case he has just rescued an alien, whose family has been murdered and taken into slavery).
Its a shame too that the Burger Wars episodes had to be left out due to copyright reasons (here was art sticking it to McDonalds and BK 25 years before Supersize Me).

Read it for reference, read it for history, read to fill in the gaps if you are already a fan or just read it because its brilliant. I don't think you will be disappointed.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2012
Whilst Dredd volume 1 was a compilation of mediocre short stories that did not really world build or provide any character development whatsoever, volume 2 is the exact opposite. What you have exactly here are the first two Dredd epics- The Cursed Earth and the Day the Law Died- collected (but not in their entirety- more on that later). Thrown in at the back are several short stories. Both epics are absolutely fantastic and some of the best comics I've ever read- whilst dated, the momentum never lets up and the ferocity is always there. Cursed Earth is particularly memorable for Dredd's pseudo sidekick, Spikes Harvey Rotten, a criminal motorcyclist turned anti-hero when offered a clean slate. Add to this the tragic character of the alien Tweak and you already have a memorable set of characters- however, their trek across the Cursed Earth is what really stands out, the challenges that they face vary and are always life-or-death. Tension is always high and Dredd is a total badass in every scene. Whilst he has little character development, the genius in his writing is more in his interaction with others. A down-point for some of this particular printing is that four chapters have been removed due to copyright disputes. I read these chapters online, at: [...], but honestly they add very little to the story and only the completist should pursue copies of them down. And just when the Cursed Earth saga is finished, and we think Dredd is going to get a rest- Judge Cal takes over Mega City One in a fascist dictatorship and Dredd must lead an underground resistance against the mad tyrant. Whilst ridiculous at times, the story is fantastic for it's satire of 20th Century history. Whilst I thought Cursed Earth was the true standout of this collection, the Day the Law Died is still great. Both showcase why Dredd is such a fantastic character and round him out nicely, unlike the first volume. For new readers, I would simply skip the first volume and read this volume- it serves as a much better introduction to Dredd's world than the first and is actually fantastic. Included at the end are a few short stories, which are good adventures but one does question their inclusion in this volume- the volume could only have been strengthened by their removal. They'd find a better home in volume three, which is actually very short. Nonetheless, volume 2 is a fantastic collection and a must read for any comics reader looking to break into British comics. Roll on to volume 3!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2014
Like volume 1 this can be a little campy in places, and Dredd is still developing as a character. Walter the Wobot is a good example of how the publishers perhaps didn't take the strip as seriously as they did later on.

To this end, 3/5, as for volume 1, though if you're a Dredd fan then it's well worth it for the early stories. Newcomers should start later on with the series and come back to volumes 1, 2 and 3. Starting here could well put you off something that later became a well deserved classic!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2014
Like other reviewers, love the content - but hate the medium for consuming it. Why can't we zoom in to any level of detail we want like other comic book reader apps? The single panel at a time method used by Kindle is cumbersome and spoils the whole experience. Do not recommend buying any Kindle versions of graphic novels until they fix this!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2014
Even on a 7inch tablet, this is sometimes hard work to read. I initially thought there was no zoom function before working out a triple tap in Android Kinect software allows you to go through it section by section which is better. A pity it needs a decent sized device though as the stories themselves are wonderful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2015
Story aside, this is not a good Kindle purchase.

The Kindle screen can just about handle it, but having to double tap each page as you view to read is onerous. Even then, you don't get to view it panel by panel.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2014
afraid this is a 1 star from me. not for the content...for the format. totally useless on my regular kindle despite it being listed in the 'available devices' list. unreadable. unzoomable (?).
shame as i do love Dredd and was looking forward to it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse