Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
21
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 March 2016
This is my third book from this series, and all I can say is they continue to disappoint. Lacking in any real insight, and containing duplicate content from other books, the only redeeming feature is it looks quite good on my desk and bookshelf. I really cannot understand how these books have such good reviews.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2009
This is a great little book on Symmetry. I think it would be hard to imagine a better job in the space. David Wade takes the reader through all of the main symmetry groups and introduces the reader to some of the philosophical issues around symmetry. A very useful book for artists and designers. Very highly recommended.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2013
This small and concise book shows and tells you everything you didn't know about symmetry in all its forms, drawing from art, nature and physics (gravity is symmetric...?). Beautifully designed and printed, even if some of the hundreds of illustrations are small, they are brilliantly clear. The balance of words and pictures is roughly 50/50. The text is well written - you won't be overly bombarded with wordy explanations - the illustrations are simply stunning enough to lose yourself in. As an Artist/designer/ecologist it has helped me in expanding my understanding of pattern. It was wonderfully informative. All this in only 64 pages! I will certainly be checking out some really interesting looking titles in this series. Hope they're all as good as this one.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2011
This is the second of the little booklets, published by Wooden Books, which investigates really fascinating aspects of the natural world (as well as of the mind) in small digestable snippets for the interested reader.

This time its the concept and prevalence of symmetry as it is found in all manner of phenomena such as crystal structures, the Platonic solids, animal body plans, in physics and art.

Firstly, the book shows the reader how symmetry arises in the first place, in other words it answers the question: how is symmetry possible? An answer to such a question involves a set of identical objects or patterns, which are arranged in some form of (usually infinite) pattern whereby one such object may be transformed into the other with a simple operation such as a reflection about a line, a rotation about a point or a translation along a line. These kinds of transformations are the simplest forms of symmetry operations which maintain patternm invariance. The next set of far more intersting kinds of transformatioon are constant dilation symmetries whereby an object is magnified in size along a set of curves followed by fractal symmetries whereby the pattern present in one length scale persists into multiple, higher scales. Naturally, this automatically leads into the idea of asymmetry and also dynamic symmetry wheresymmetry is created as part of a process.
22 Comments| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2012
I bought this book as a present for a friend who loves symmetry! So far she's told me it's so beautiful she wants to eat it. I think that's a good review.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2012
This is an excellent series. Such a lot of wonderful content in a small book. It's beautiful to look at and full of inspirational information and illustrations. It was a present for my Illustrator son, and he's finding it very useful for sparking off ideas, and simply to enjoy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2012
This small book is one of a large series from Wooden Books.Beautifully illustrated and simply written, it spells out an amazing insight into the presence and importance of symmetry in our universe, from the sub-atomic to the largest systems in the universe.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2011
A small book packed with elegant pictures and interesting text. Light reading, can be dipped into time and time again, discovering and rediscovering patterns, from a very broad and complete spectrum.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2013
A fabulous book, full of beauty, inspiration and deep insights. I can recommend it to anyone with an interest in nature, geometry or arts.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2015
The book was delivered in time and also the content is good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)