Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
11
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
4
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 March 2006
It's amazing how little we know (or have been told) about where we live and the people who used to live there. I had absolutely no idea about the dreadful "Witch" trials in this tiny part of Fife, and I certainly did not know that the torturing and incarceration of "witches" was a lucrative business.
This book is an incredibly gripping, horrifying but educational insight into our past, where neighbourly squabbles could result in many others' untimely deaths. A story well worth telling!
22 comments| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2006
Those of us who grew up in the East Neuk of Fife will recall the neighbourliness . There was pride and decency among the hardworking fishermen,farmers , engineers ,colonial and civil servants that the area produced.

There was cold austerity and disapproval as well.It emanated from the Presbyterian church. The minister was admired, not loved .It is not really surprising that in earlier centuries , a handful of little Hitlers led by the church perpetrated torture and murder to raise revenue. These crimes went unpunished. Well done, Leonard, for reminding us. Religion is ever used as a cover for man's inhumanity.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2013
This book offers a fascinating insight into what really happened during the witch trials in Scotland. Based on actual historic records, the book details the hopeless situations those accused found themselves in and the actual reasons for the trials. A must read for anyone interested in witchcraft or history.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2011
I bought The Weem Witch because I grew up in Pittenweem and I`m interested in the history of the area and the witch trials. Leonard Low brings the local intrigue and politics of the time to life and graphically describes the persecution and the reasons why it happened, tracing the accusations right back to their roots. He tells us about the individuals accused, many of whom have ancestors living in Pittenweem today! The book was so good I even went on Leonards tour of Pittenweem Church tower where the "witches" were imprisoned which was another insight altogether and very enjoyable. The Weem Witch is not only a jolly good read; it is a well researched record of the last Pittenweem Witch trials and the end of Witch trials in Scotland.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2013
A good objective account of what happened in Pittenweem during 1704 and 1705. Needs to be read with the press account of the problem associated with the proposed memorial in 2013.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2016
wonderfully informative.I have been to the places in Pittenweem and experienced the feelings of days gone by and all that must have gone on.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2015
Another brilliant book from the born storyteller.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2015
Perfect, purchase arrived really early and in lovely condition thank you, super seller will use again
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2015
Great read I could hardly put it down .I found it very interesting and informative .well done.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2015
Interesting and well researched. A real life horror story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse