Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
617
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 March 2017
Really enjoyed this book and its a classic. Definitely give it a go.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2017
Tried this as someone who doesn't like sci fi. It felt like a book for teenagers who love game stations. Not for me at all, easy to read but couldn't engage with the characters at all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2013
good YA fiction and about to be a summer blockbuster (which is why I read it) I am an English and Media teacher so I like to keep ahead of the summer movie mania.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2017
I loved this book as it is interesting and intense, so much that you cannot put the book down. I can't wait to read the others.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2013
Couldn't put the book down an absolutely thrilling insight to human behaviour and our moral values under extreme circumstances.

What happens with first contact if the 2 different highly defensive species can't communicate?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2014
Cheesy, repetitive, naked boys running around!? an ending visible from a couple of planets away. I put off reading this for years, should have left it, at least it didn't take long or I would have given up.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
My grandson, 11, loves to read, and to keep him in books is difficult. He will read a new book a couple of times. His teacher recommended The Ender's Game series to his mother.

My grandson absolutely loved the two Ender's Game books I sent. I think I am on the hook for the entire series, and that is fine with me. He was enthralled with the writing, and that it is sci-fi oriented. My grandson has a wonderful imagination and memory, so sci-fi is one of the realms he loves. The battle room was one of the strengths of this books, plus the imaginative places and events that take place.

Even though we are late to the game with this series, it is still as relevant today as the day it was written. I will peruse the rest of the books by Orson Scott Card, and send them off to Seattle.

Recommended Highly. prisrob 07-11-16
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Ender Wiggin is a very unusual boy -- he's a brilliant tactician, a genius, and a despised "third" in a future that only allows two children. He's also six years old.

And despite the fact that Orson Scott Card's sci-fi classic is about a little boy learning how to be a warrior, "Ender's Game" is a pretty gripping and sometimes grim adventure story. The descriptions of children being taught out how to be cold-blooded warriors is pretty creepy, but the well-developed future world that Card comes up with is pretty awesome.

After a fight with a gang of bullies, Ender Wiggin is approached by an army officer who wants him to join the elite Battleschool, where kid geniuses become soldiers -- basically because aliens are about to attack Earth AGAIN and may end up wiping out the human race. His brother Peter is too wild and cruel, and his beloved sister Valentine is too mild-mannered.

Ender accepts, and quickly finds himself in a dog-eat-dog space school where he soon becomes loathed for the special treatment the teachers occasionally give him -- when they aren't observing his every move. And it soon becomes obvious that Ender has a natural ability that exceeds that of most of the Battleschool recruits: he instinctively knows how to outmaneuver his opponents and protect himself in a fight, even if he annoys some of the "army" commanders who don't like being outshone.

Back on Earth, his brother and sister try to alter the increasingly unstable politics of Earth by subtle manipulation of the public, a situation that may bring the ruthless Peter into greater power. And as Ender reaches the end of his training, he faces both the buggers and the knowledge of what he is capable of.

"Ender's Game" is kind of an unusual space opera, because the actual war between humans and buggers is not front-and-center until the last act of the story. Up until then, it's about following Ender and his equally unusual siblings as they develop prematurely into adulthood -- these are genius kids who can reshape entire worlds, but you're not really sure that they SHOULD.

Card writes in a detailed but brisk style, with pretty realistic dialogue and some ugly dark spots (the description of Peter flaying a squirrel... for no reason). Ender's time at Battle School and Command School feel rather slow at times, only for things to blossom in the final laps of the novel -- Card suddenly turns all our feelings and expectations on their heads. The tragedy of children turned into soldiers becomes even more tragic as we discover what the war is actually all about.

As you'd expect from Fascist Hogwarts In Space, there are a lot of kids at Battle School who are developed to certain degrees. But the center of the story is Ender himself -- and despite being a tactical genius with loads of natural ability, Ender never seems like a Wesley Crusher. Like a boy destined to be a Spartan warrior, his inborn skills are what will keep him from ever finding peace. His childhood is sacrificed for war.

The other part of the story rests on Peter and Valentine -- Valentine is too nice, while Peter is gradually revealed to be a ruthless genius who works anything and anyone for his goals, which may or may not be self-serving. It's oddly fun to see the growing influence of "Demosthenes" and "Locke" on the cruel government.

"Ender's Game" is an intelligent, gripping space opera with an undercurrent of intense tragedy -- it's kind of slow at times, but the strong writing and intriguing main trio keep it afloat.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 15 January 2011
Science fiction featuring military training, detailed battle tactics and space warfare often skips developing characters, particularly female ones. However Orson Scott Card's classic Ender's Game is so successful in large part because his characters are well-rounded. The central one, Andrew 'Ender' Wiggin, may be a male child set to save the world (cliché alert), yet the women in his life - his sister and his mother in particular - are far more than cardboard cut outs, and the military storyline is the background to the development of the central character's personality as he grows and is trained.

Moreover, the logic of why a young child might be placed in the position of saving the world is well worked out. That plausibility makes the fictional universe created by Orson Scott Card hang together, with a strong internal logic that allows the reader to try to second-guess what is being done and why - though I'll admit the major twist caught me out unexpectedly.

The book has its fair share of clever military ruses but it is the way highly talented children are taught and react that makes the book far more than the likes of a Gordon R Dickson novel. It also has a very sparse writing style as, rather than going for elaborate descriptions, Scott Card leaves it to the reader to imagine the details triggered by the fast-moving action.

If you get the book it is well worth going for either the second hardback edition (or later) or the anniversary audio edition as they both include Orson Scott Card's own reflections on writing the book and what makes it work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2005
I have read my fair share of fantasy and have therefore found several cases in which the author creates a well-crafted world. Orson Scott Card excels in this aspect, presenting a setting that is on the borderline between a fantastic world and a possible future for our own existence. One of the aspects that I enjoyed most about this work is the complex set of rules created by the author and the heavy weight politics and philosophy play in the story.
Andrew Wiggin, also known as Ender due to his sister's inability for voicing his real name, is a very special little kid. His parents received a special permission from the government to have a third child due to their outstanding genes, overriding the law that prevents having more that two kids. As a result Ender has worn a monitor since his birth and every one of his actions has been analyzed in extreme detail. But now the monitor needs to come off, and the people that have been monitoring him are interested in making life difficult for him to unveil his reactions.
Of course it does not stop there, and when the offer from Colonel Graff for joining the Battle school is presented to Ender, he has to go fulfill his duty and leave behind his family and the human being he cares about the most, his sister Valentine. The Battle School should not be taken lightly. Eighty years ago, the humans fought a war against the buggers and were only able to survive thanks to a brilliant commander. Now humanity depends on the ability of the high ranks of the military to find a new leader, and Ender is one of the hopes they have for salvation. The fact that he is younger than most in Battle School will certainly make things difficult for him, and keep things interesting for us.
Besides providing with great entertainment, this book makes us think about what may lie in the future, what are the ethical implications of war and whether or not is OK to achieve our ends without caring for what the means used are. We also get an interesting fictional look at life in the military, and our fare share of action. One thing about this book is undeniable; it is like nothing you have ever read, so if you are looking for something different, this one is for you.
33 Comments| 116 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse