Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
16
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 November 2013
Given the funny and insightful first Dave Hart, it was a big surprise to find out that not only is there a sequel but that it's even better than the first! The anti hero is well written and the story really picks up pace in this model in an almost fawlty towers esque farce leading to one triumph after another. This book is well written with great story development offering an insight into the city, which although exaggerated is not too far from the truth. One of my favourite books of all time - better than the first!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2007
Having read the first novel about the same character Dave Hart, I could not wait to see what happened to him next in this tale. This is the man you love to hate, the JR of the finance world.
Once again this is a very funny tale of how Dave rises from the disaster of his last bonus payout, managing to double deal and bullsh** his way to the top of the ladder, making plenty of fair weather friends on the way up and even more enemies who want to see him go straight back down again. He appears to get his come uppance at the end of the book. Or does he? There seems to be a third book on it's way according to this book, which will be called 'The ego has landed'. This book states it will be released in October 07, but so far it has not appeared on Amazon. I wait with bated breath for the next instalment!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This man is a genius, you are in for a treat, just take care through the parts where it reminds you of yourself.
Good education for the city novice
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2009
Whereas I found the book entertaining I thought it was nowhere near the 'Tales form the Square Mile' of the same author, which I gave a good review separately. The plot isn't great, nor its very believeable, although after Madoff there is very little not to believe in...

Perhaps writing a novel is more demanding task that short stories or may be there after first book this type of characters lost a bit of novelty ?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2007
Behind the City of London's façade of sharp suits, fast cars and lavish expense accounts lies a world of cruel deception, savage double-dealing and rampaging egos. The stories are set mainly in the City of London and feature those whose daily toil involves moving, spending and earning vast wads of money. The rewards for these people are enormous - but they function under scarcely imaginable stress, and not surprisingly it takes its toll in terms of their humanity. They operate in a climate of fear, greed and a debauch of permanent self-regard. The author clearly knows his stuff and he includes some sharply observed insider details.

As a former graduate working in the City, I can say that this book reads very true to life. When you are living in the world described in the book, you think that it's normal. It's only once you get out that you realise it was a bizarre and unpleasant way of wasting years of your life.
11 Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2007
Coming from the finance industry, I can tell you that the main character is very realistic if not subtle compared to so many types I've met over the years.. I had lots of fun reading this book (except for the tedious bits about animal rights and financing that struggling company - intolerable bore had to be skipped entirely), i finished the book in a day. Highly recommend to anyone in the City and outside as a humorous portrail of our contemporary without any moral or principle boundaries whatsoever for whom the party never ends. I actually liked his spirit and loved very much the book! Well written, will definitely read the first one and the follow up coming in late 2007.

This is the first author since Michael Lewis, as far as I know, who gave a true and fun glimpse into London's high finance and what really happens. It's nice to have such a bright, original and highly experienced insider speaking for the City.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2010
Having enjoyed the first book I bought this one as an easy read whilst on holiday. It's very funny, but will definitely appeal to more boys than girls. In my opinion it's a lot funnier than the first. The story line isn't remotely credible but that doesn't matter at this level of entertaining writing. Struck me as a bit like a' city' oriented Tom Sharpe novel. I don't think I'll rush to read the next one in the series straight away but will certainly return to them after a break.
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 1 December 2010
The second installment in the currently four piece series (starting with At Bonus Time, No-one Can Hear You Scream going on with The Ego Has Landed and currently finishing with Where Egos Dare) on the life of David Hart, the ultimate anti hero (or was that investment banker) picks up where the first book left off, with a natural twist (the originally implied ending would not have left much possibility for a sequel).

As such it uses Hart as a caricature of an investment banker, pretty much forming some of the less 'wholesome' characteristics the author perceived in the breed during his own years in the city into one person, who will easily be hated but whose unlikely exploits will eqaully be secretly enjoyed by the readers. Like At Bonus Time, No-one Can Hear You Scream I find this book not as good as Bombardiers but it certainly works for killing a couple of hours on a plane or beach - it is entertaining but not necessarily spectacular.

In this book Hart finds a reversal of fortunes and goes right to the very top, exploring what life is like there - finding much to like but not really fundamentally deviating from his 'true self' as a result. Heading and rejuvenating the investment banking department of a staid but cash rich continental bank, together with some reluctant and bumbling 007 stunts is what you will be getting in this sequel.

While the first one of the series is a stretched short story and a bit on the short side, the extra 40 pages in this one seemed to drag a bit - or maybe one can best take it in small doses, as suggested by one of the other reviewers (i.e. do not read them in a row, without building in some extensive breaks). This probably also explains part of the reason why I liked it less than the first one, the other part being that some aspects simply started being a bit too repetitive.

As with the whole series the parody will probably horrify some readers and as far as realism goes, I guess the people who've been in the positions will know best and leave others guessing with a twinkle in their eye. As for the ending, the cliffhanger on the last page tends to lose its power with the repetition, and the note that the third installment with the same merry cast is to follow. So overall about 3.5 stars, making it a weak 4 for entertainment's sake.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2008
A fictional story of an investment banker that lives a charmed life, extortionate earnings, a sizzling sex life, his luck & good fortune makes this account of investment banking unbelievably humorous. Accounts of the crafty and devilish investment banker outfoxing his mercenary like wife and how he shifts the responsibility of supporting an animal testing research organisation on the unsuspecting german chief executive of the investment bank will get you in stitches.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2011
Who could possibly imagine that such a callous calculating individual exists in our well-respected and loved banking industry? A few years back I would have possibly found this quite unbelievable but these days I'm not so sure! I suppose the next follow up will be suppressed as he'll probably spend some of his cash on a super injunction which is the new trend of the super-rich.
Overall i really enjoyed this book, it made quite easy reading and i found i could quite imagine how this could be real-life.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse