Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.2 out of 5 stars
17
3.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£5.68+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 30 July 2015
Not a bad book though not great either, written by Nick Lowles (I thought he was better known for writing books on right wing groups and searchlight?) and Andy Nicholls better known for his book on his times in the Everton firm it covers quite a lot so you cant really blame it for being a bit short on detail.

This one ends at Luton Town and covers quite a few divisions too as well as Scotland. Briefly touches on the 60s and gives good coverage to the 70s and 80s and then then 90s. Probably stops around 2006 as the Everton Man United fight in Liverpool is mentioned. One thing to keep in mind is much of this is lifted from other books by the looks of things so if you have those books you are not really going to learn much new from this. Another thing is like a lot of hooligan books the way some incidents are described do come across as a bit OTT I mean if this had not been at a football match or before or after one this would be no more than a few lads in a scuffle in a pub on any given Saturday night up and down the country. The way its described sometimes you would think it was world war 3. Did make me laugh though where the book mentions one incident where a Chief Constable is woken up by a police helicopter landing in his back garden to tell him about a riot and he goes out in the helicopter to see whats going on wearing his pyjamas. Do people actually think this really happened?

In short, if you want a brief account of each clubs firm around the country and don't really want to spend your cash buying the books this is a decent read, if you already have those books though you will be disappointed because you probably wont get much more from this.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2011
Although I can't condone this sort of thing it is interesting, if not fasinating, to read about the different hooligan gangs that were, and to a lesser extent, still are attending the games to fight with their rivals.

It was annoying to have to buy two books to have the full A-Z of the teams and their hooligan sect, but who can blame the authors for doubling up on their takings and if they had of combined both books it would have been bigger than a Ken Follett Novel, so fair play to them.

Very well written and although it is the sort of book that you can't put down, it's not the sort of book that you'd need to pick up again once you've read it. It's not really a reference book more of a one off sort of a read for anyone who is curious about the topic.

This book had to be written and it had to be read - from an educational and historical point of view its a very good book and I have no regrets buying it or reading it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2016
I was heavily involved in policing football in the 1980's & went to dozens of matches in London in the 70's where, as a youth I witnessed the hooligan problem at first hand. Whether or not some of the incidents described are accurate is not much of an issue. Certainly I recognise some and many can be supported by media stories at the time. Obviously of particular interest at this moment in time is the section that looks at the Liverpool hooligan element. The book does tread lightly over the Heysel and Hillsborough tragedies but makes some interesting points.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2012
This book is inaccurate and full of lies basically. A lot of the material has been lifted from hooligan websites and I can tell you that I was there all through the 80s and many of the stories are quite simply not how it happened. I wouldnt touch this with a bargepole. It says people were stabbed at games I was at and they werent so the author is either making it up or he has been fed and has printed it without question. A load of rubbish.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2005
The book to end them all!
Forget 2nd and 3rd hand accounts of how we battered everyone and anyone, this is the definative book on FV, well written and interesting it gives every angle you could wish for and more, from both mobs involved to the police reports and even comments from the judges who were sending the lads down and poor unfortunate old ladies who Saturday afternoons were wrecked by mindless thugs!
Could do with some more pictures to comp[lement the excellent text but it can be picked up and put down at ease.
Quality...bring on volume 2.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2006
A "Must have" for the lads (and there dads!!) retired or still at it, brought a tear to my eye, especially when you read of fines and community service when today such behaviour gets you 3 years! A trip down memory lane, well written and very true.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2005
Well if your like me and have read lots of books about different clubs around the country take my advise and dont bother buying this book.
I bought it hoping it would be at least interesting but its not and its just old tales being told in a different book.
Boring and old i think the stage as come where anyone who as seen violence at a football match is now writing a book.
Very dissapointing
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2013
A okay read if your into the subject matter very detailed and sometimes pertubing insight into the problems of the 70s and 80s.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2015
AN EXCELLENT READAND ITS ACTUALLY HOW IT WAS FROM THE 70s , .I CAN RELIVE THESE DAYS AS IF IT WAS YESTERDAY.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2015
Great to try to understand this phenomenon
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)